Two Black Bean Recipes – One Sweet, One Savory

March 3, 2011 at 12:23 pm 9 comments

The theme around here this week has been black beans. I don’t really know why. It just has.

It started on Saturday with an effort to make “a treat” for my Sweet Tooth (Lil C) that incorporated some nutrition. He loved them. I liked them. Derek and Lil D each took one bite and gave me a “thank you, but no thank you” look. I would make them again for Lil C (and me).

Vegan Black Bean Brownies

Ingredients

15 ounces black beans, drained and rinsed

2 whole bananas

⅓ cup honey or agave nectar (I used honey)

¼ cup unsweetened cocoa

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

¼ cup turbinado sugar (I used regular)

1/3 cup quick oats (dry)

Scant 1/4 c whole wheat flour

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease an 8×8″ pan and set aside. Combine all ingredients, except oats and flour, in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth, scraping sides as needed. Stir in the oats and flour and pour batter into the pan. Bake about 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool before slicing.

Makes 16 smallish servings.

Nutrition Facts per serving:

126 calories, 25 g carbohydrate, 2 g fat, 3 g protein

This morning I remembered a black bean soup recipe I saw here last week. I was moving at the speed of light and the boys were happily eating their breakfast, so I took the opportunity to whip out the slow cooker, grab the ingredients, open cans, chop, measure and sprinkle in less than 10 minutes. This evening, in the span of about 3 minutes, I grabbed the hand blender to puree the soup, I ladled into bowls (for Derek and I; the boys enjoyed plain black beans) and then and sprinkled with toppings – for me, light feta cheese and an extra sprinkle of lime juice, and for Derek, shredded reduced fat cheddar and white rice.

The total work time on this recipe was less than 15 minutes.

This soup was deeelicious. I will make it again, and it might even find a place on our regular roster. So, here it is, with my modifications:

Black Bean Slow-Cooker Soup

  • 3 cans of black beans (drained and rinsed)
  • half a 28 oz can of stewed tomatoes (the ones I had were spiced; they were fine)
  • 2 cups of vegetable broth (chicken would work)
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 tbsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 2 tsp lime juice
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped vegetables (I used half a large onion and 2 carrots but the beauty of this recipe is that any veg will do!)
  • 1 chopped apple
  1. Chop & dump everything in the crock.
  2. Cook for 8-10 hours on low.
  3. Puree with an immersion (hand?) blender.
  4. Serve with some shredded cheddar or crumbled feta (I loved the latter). Derek also suggested fresh cilantro and/or green onions for next time. You could also add a dollop of plain yogurt or sour cream.

Final note:  I finally found a food besides hamburgers, chicken fingers or pizza that both boys like – beans, just plain old beans. They both ate up their bowls of black beans for dinner and asked to have them for lunch tomorrow. When I told them I was out of black beans (they were in heavy demand this week), they agreed that kidney beans would be a fine substitute. I have to remember this when I’m scrambling for a quick meal.

Anyone have any really easy slow cooker recipes? It was so satisfying to spend so little time working for such a delicious, nutritious product.

Entry filed under: nutrition, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Now that I’ve Got Bits and Pieces of Nanny A’s Story, What Do I Do with Them? Fitness Friday: Why I Like Lifting Heavy Weights

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sasha  |  March 3, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    Glad you enjoyed the soup! There’s another one I want to try, from Enlightened Chocolate – which means it has cocoa in it. It’s not written for the slow cooker but I’m going to try it out and post it if it works out.

    Another easy slow cooker recipe is Peanut Butter Chicken, in fact it’s going in the cooker this morning. I recently posted a link on my blog, the original is here: http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2011/02/easy-peanut-butter-chicken-slow-cooker.html

    And here’s what I meant by an immersion blender: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Immersion_blender. Great for blending soups right in the pot, also for doing smoothies without hauling out the regular blender (and having to clean it afterwards). Same as your hand blender?

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  March 3, 2011 at 2:48 pm

      Sasha, loved the recipe. Thanks again. Yes, thanks to your link I now know that an immersion blender is the same as a hand blender!

      We have a peanut allergy in the house so unfortunately no nuts or nut butters and I don’t think sunflower seed butter would work for the peanut butter chicken (though it looks so easy and tasty!). Looking forward to the cocoa recipe if it turns out.

      Reply
  • 3. Alicia  |  March 3, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    YUM and YUM! Isn’t funny how you hear about something for the first time and then it comes up again and again shortly after? Little E’s day care provider made black bean browines (slighty different recipe than yours) for the kids this week and asked me to test them out. And then today she handed me the recipe, can’t wait to try them out! I must try this soup too!

    Reply
  • 4. Mindy  |  March 3, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    Thanks! I’m going to try that soup recipe. My kids love beans also. I give them beans as a snack on a regular basis. Chick peas and black beans are their favorites. We have a slow cooker and we hardly ever use it. I had good intentions when I got it though!

    Reply
  • 5. fitforakid  |  March 3, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    Just wanted to let you all know that I just had two servings of the soup for lunch. It’s even better on day two. I sent Derek out to restock the black bean and diced tomato supply cause I wanna make this again very soon.

    Reply
  • 6. Lynn  |  March 4, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    I’ve tried those black bean brownies several times and always end up with a totally unedible mess. Did your kids really love them? Did you find them brownie like? Were they actually sweet, or more like eating a can of refried beans?

    I’m interested in the soup, though…I adore soup, and I’m always on the watch for new soup recipes. It’s going in my recipe folder.

    Reply
    • 7. fitforakid  |  March 7, 2011 at 3:41 am

      Truly, Lil C liked them and ate them. They tasted sweet since they do have two whole bananas, honey and sugar in them after all, and yes, they were brownie-like. I’m not sure I will make them again right away since Lil C was really the only one who was totally keen on them and there are so many other recipes out there to try.

      But the soup I may even make again this week! Though someone just gave me an idea for a good crockpot curry to try this week – decisions, decisions.

      Reply
  • 8. Alicia  |  March 10, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    I made the soup the other day and it is great! Even better the next day for lunch too. Little E was a little hestitant at first but once he finally got his spoon to his lips he loved it too! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • 9. fitforakid  |  March 15, 2011 at 2:23 am

      Yay! Glad you (and especially Little E) liked it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 369 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

