Totally Freaked Out…

February 22, 2010 at 6:18 pm 2 comments

… by this article from Toronto Life Magazine about “pure parenting”.  What a perfect topic for my first real post.

Do these people really exist?  I mean, I know they do cause I know people who are on the fringes of this, but really and truly, NEVER any store-bought bread?  Having the gall to ask people for a particular type of toy for a child’s birthday (if you don’t like it when you get it, take your own time to go exchange it)?  Fear of a rubber ducky leaching phthlates into bath water?  What would happen if it were in the bath water?  Is there any evidence that a minute trace of phthalate in the bath water is associated with any sort of condition?

And then there’s the vaccine issue… how it gets lumped in with the other neuroses in this article is so frustrating for me.  The parents in this article are described are doing everything they can to ensure their babies health but they don’t want to give them potentially life-saving vaccines?

My last big beef is the neurotic behaviour of the parents – those can be felt by children.  I’m convinced of that.  In my house, we’ve purposely started avoiding the phrase ” I worry about “when speaking to our older son D.   It sounds strange coming out of a 4 year old’s mouth and he has recently taken to saying it.  Hopefully the less he hears it from us, the less he’ll use it, or think it.

I’m all about moderation and balance (on most days).  In our house, here’s what we do for our children:

VACCINES:

  • Both boys vaccinated on schedule for all recommended vaccines, even those that are not publicly funded (Hep A for vacations in the Caribbean and Central America and Meningicoccal Conjugate)

FOOD & FOOD STORAGE

  • Generally the children eat nutritious foods, fruits, veg, whole grain, unprocessed, though purchased at the regular grocery store.
  • Occasionally food is organic, but not always.
  • On the weekend we eat out usually twice (usually one brunch and one dinner, though sometimes more).
  • The boys like hamburgers and french fries (though not usually fast food) and sometimes ice cream.
  • Metal water bottles
  • Reusable lunch containers (except the odd ziplock bag when I just can’t fit it all in the lunchbag)

PERSONAL CARE PRODUCTS & CLOTHING

  • Not usually organic though I love Little Twig Tangerine organic Baby Wash and Shampoo – the smell is heavenly; choices are usually based on convenience, availability or preference.
  • Diapers and wipes – disposable… not a chance I would ever have selected cloth.  Thank goodness only a few months left (I hope).
  • If the organic clothing is as cute as the conventional, then I’ll go for it; otherwise, forget it (I do the same for my own clothing).

TOYS

  • We try to use good quality toys.  Turns out they are mostly wooden and that is my personal preference.  I hate cheap plastic and avoid the dollar store toys at all costs (except gifts!  We teach the boys to say thank you no matter what the gift).

CLEANING PRODUCTS

  • While I try to avoid harsh chemicals, we live in a northern climate which means that germs are rampant for at least 5 months of the year when we are primarily indoors.  For that reason, I firmly believe in proper disinfection of commonly used surfaces.  We never spray around the children or near anything they might consume.

So, I know I have no readers as of yet, but if you do happen to read, I’d love to know what you do in your house, and what you think of the Toronto Life article

Entry filed under: In the news, Parenting, Vaccines. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Bright, shiny and new Scrumptious & Nutritious Breakfast Cookies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tracey  |  February 22, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Wow-that article freaked me out too!

    I think you can argue yourself in circles about most topics. For all of those that only eat organic, there’s the argument that many organic food labels aren’t truly “organic” by the strictest definition, but also that nowadays, anything grown in the Earth-whether sprayed with pesticides or not-is contaminated by some sort of leeched chemicals from waste or from rain or…well, whatever.

    I’m all for moderation. Do I try to keep my children as healthy as possible? Of course. Do I try to buy quality toys and foods and watch their diets? Yes. But I think restricting kids from any type of fast foods or sugars is in fact CREATING a problem. Sucking a candy and spitting it in a cup? SERIOUSLY? That’s going to lead to teens or adults who go nuts gorging on all that they were deprived of by their parents.

    I think we’ve gone overboard as a society. If anything, I’d say we are making our children more prone to sickness and illness by not exposing to some of the regular germs out there in the world. As an ECE, I often found that the children who got the most ill in the first year of care were those that lived in the most sterile environments. Their systems couldn’t handle any germs. I’m not saying live in squalor-I’m saying MODERATION.

    I also look at my generation-we grew up without our parents having all of these fears-and most of us are pretty darn okay I’d say.

    We need to take a collective breath and relax a little. I fear our little ones are going to be high strung, anxious adults afraid of stepping out of their homes, if we don’t.

    Reply
  • 2. Thoughts One Year Later « Fit for a kid  |  February 28, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    […] “Pure Parenting”: No comment. Still flabbergasted. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


