Why did it take so long? Gardasil approved by Health Canada for males age 9-26

February 25, 2010 at 7:10 pm 1 comment

This week, Health Canada approved the Gardasil (HPV or human papilloma virus) vaccine for boys and men ages 9 to 26.   I’m no sexual health anthropologist or women’s studies expert, but I have big red question marks in my head on why this wasn’t done at the same time it was approved for girls and women.  Yes, I realize that girls and women are the ones who get cervical cancer so it was a priority to approve this vaccine for them… but couldn’t the trials and the data have been done on both sexes at the same time?  Like for every other vaccine??  If I had the time, I would go and read the record of decisions on this from when the HPV vaccine was approved for women – maybe I will try to find the time right now.  I’m quite perplexed.

My boys are still too young for this vaccine, but they will certainly get it when they are eligible.  For the same reasons they get the other vaccines, to protect themselves (from nasty warts on their man parts – how absolutely disgusting to think about in my babies), and to protect their partners (also somewhat disturbing to think about for a 2 and 4 year old).

At any rate, this is really the logical follow-up to having the HPV vaccine recommended for girls and women in the same age group and I’m surprised it took so long.  Or maybe I’m not surprised.  Are you?

Entry filed under: In the news, Vaccines. Tags: , , , , .

Blogspiration – Chubby cheeks and a short haircut Bribery and Toilet-Training

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Thoughts One Year Later « Fit for a kid  |  February 28, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    […] Immunization: While I no longer do paid work as an immunization educator, I do continue to advocate for immunization locally and globally. Did you see this: if you were at one of four major U.S. airports in the last day or two, you may have been exposed to measles. I was not immune to measles until recently; actually, I don’t know if I’m immune, I just know I was vaccinated. That would have been fun. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


