Bribery and Toilet-Training

February 26, 2010 at 4:23 pm 3 comments

My husband just emailed to say that my 2.5 yr old C made his first poop on the toilet this morning.  Yay!   We will soon be a diaper-free household.  $20 extra each week to spend on me – woohoo!  But before I celebrate, I will describe the second part of this story and introduce another member of our cast of characters.

I present to you N, our nanny, and an indispensable member of our household.  I purposely say OUR nanny because she not only takes care of the children while we work but she takes care of all of us…  she is a hard-worker with strong opinions about how a household should be run, and I love that!   If she wants to organize the kitchen a certain way or fold the clothes a certain way, I do not give a shit.  The fact that the house is organized at all is fantastic.  N has been with us for exactly 2 years now and we all consider her part of the family (she does not live with us, but comes M through F). So, that’s a little about N.  Now back to C and his toilet tale.

Apparently, this morning, N bribed C to make his poop on the toilet with a trip to Tim Hortons for Timbits.  For any non-Canadian who may at some point in the distant future read this, Timbits are donut holes, little balls of sweet fried dough coated in sugary glaze or powder.

Now he really has something to celebrate

I have an inner conflict with this – not because I don’t think N should have bribed C with Timbits but because I don’t really care that N bribed C with Timbits.  If I were a good mother would I be disturbed about this bribery with fatty sugary processed food?  Or is it okay because I know C has the genes from my side of the family (like my brother) that will keep him slim and muscular, that I will balance out the rest of his week of eating with generally healthy choices, and that he rarely eats unless he is truly hungry?

Anyway, I’m proud of my little C’s accomplishment;  he apparently was jumping up and down with pride afterward.  Am I sad that I only get a report of this and don’t get to see it live and in person?  Well, that’s a whole other post, or rather series of posts.

Any thoughts on bribery with less than healthful food treats?

Entry filed under: Parenting. Tags: , , , , , , .

Why did it take so long? Gardasil approved by Health Canada for males age 9-26 Little Ski Stuff is So Cute!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Thoughts One Year Later « Fit for a kid  |  February 28, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    […] Toilet-training: Done! […]

    Reply
  • 2. how to start potty training a girl  |  September 13, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    Your toddler will find this team sport much more
    interesting than going it alone. If you are concerned about
    not being able to give your child these experiences due to money or any other
    reason, don’t fret. If the space permits, take your dog off the leash
    and play with him.

    Reply
  • 3. how to potty train a 2 year old  |  September 14, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    The point when the tyke is occupied with different exercises
    or playing, he may not prefer to head off to the can. These
    are all signs that your toddler is ready for potty
    training. First, make sure your child is ready for potty training, shows interest,
    wants “big kids pants” etc.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


