What is a Dunkaroo and why is it in the “granola bar” section at the grocery store?

March 3, 2010 at 4:40 pm 1 comment

Disclaimer:  I’m embarrassed to write this post; just need to say that up front.  I am supposed to be writing about healthy and fit kids but I seem to be writing about the various horribly sugary processed foods they consume and how I let myself be manipulated into it.  I suppose if I’m struggling with this, I may not be alone.  Feel free to chastise me as you wish after reading the following.

Yesterday afternoon D arrived home from school and I was busy in our home office.  I did not immediately go out to greet him as I was covered in a pile of papers.  Within seconds of the door closing behind him, I heard D burst into tears.  Big D (who I will now call Derek because big D sounds like a fat rapper) called out to little D and told him to come see us.  He arrived with huge tears dripping down his face.

The source of those tears was the consumption of a package of Dunkaroos by his little brother.  Apparently over the weekend someone had given him a package of Dunkaroos.  I did not even know what Dunkaroos were before yesterday, so for those as blissfully ignorant as I was, they are sets of two plastic packages, one with “cookies” and one with icing.

At any rate, D had been thinking about eating those Dunkaroos after school and was mortified to find they were no longer -at least the “cookies” were no longer.  C had not had the icing part (thank goodness for small victories).

I took one look at those tears and said, “don’t worry.  I have to go to the grocery store anyway.  Why don’t I go right now and I can try to find those Dunkaroos for you and you can have them after dinner?”  What??  Did I really just say that?  And, then off I went.

At the store, I gathered dried apricots, olive oil, an onion, bananas, milk, frozen peas… and then I went to the cookie aisle.   No Dunkaroos.  So, I strolled through the next few aisles.  And, there, in the granola bar section, were the Dunkaroos.

Does this look like a box of granola bars?

So, are Dunkaroos granola bars?  Nope.  Are granola bars equivalent to Dunkaroos?  Maybe.  That’s the conclusion I’ve come to.  Good marketing on the part of Dunkaroos (General Mills) and definitely a poor endorsement for granola bars.

And yes, Dex was very happy to eat his Dunkaroos and generously saved the last one for me (I couldn’t bear to eat it so I thanked him and quickly disposed of it).

I better bake another batch of granola cookies

Entry filed under: Parenting. Tags: , , , , , .

Little Ski Stuff is So Cute! Fructose, sucrose, glucose – is there any difference?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Costa Rica Vacation Packages  |  July 12, 2014 at 8:41 pm

    Wondcerful beat ! I wish to apprenticce whhile you ajend your site, how cann
    i subscribe for a weblog site? The account aided me a applicable deal.
    I had been tiny bit familiar of tthis your broadcasdt provided
    vibrant transparent concept

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


