Elisha’s Home-made Energy/Protein Bars

March 29, 2010 at 4:49 pm 4 comments

My favourite trainer at Greco Lean and Fit, Elisha, made these bars as a loot bag for all the participants in her class on her birthday.  They were so delicious and she generously shared the recipe.

As I have previously written, we have a peanut-free home, so I will try making these with the peanut-free Blue Diamond almond butter.  I still wouldn’t serve these to the kids until we get clearance that both kids are free of peanut and/or nut allergies, but at least I can make them this way at home without worrying about peanut contamination.

I also think I might add a scoop of whey protein in my second attempt, to up the protein content… will report back on this

Here’s the recipe:

Note – apparently Elisha burned the honey and pb on her first try that day so you do need to watch the pot!

1 cup all natural organic peanut butter (almond butter in my case)

1 cup honey

1 cup chopped dried apricots

1/2 cup almonds

1/2 cup walnuts (an extra 1/2 cup of almonds in my case)

1 cup of old-fashioned oats

I may also add some pumpkin seeds…

Melt PB and honey in a pot over low heat until runny.
Blend in everything
Mush it all in a 9×9 pan and place in fridge.

Ta-da! Voila!

Elisha did not provide me with the nutritional breakdown or serving size, but I’ve worked out the various options based on this recipe making 16 servings.

Option 1, as written by Elisha (peanut butter, walnuts)

Per Serving

240 calories, 6 g protein, 12 g fat, 2 g fiber

Option 2, substituting almond butter for pb and almonds for walnuts and adding pumpkin seeds

Per Serving

254 calories, 6 g protein, 13 g fat, 2 g fiber

Option 3, adding 3 scoops of whey protein to option 2

283 calories, 13 g protein, 13 g fat, 2 g fiber

Entry filed under: Fitness, nutrition, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Meltdowns, Mayhem, and Silence Picky Eaters and Frustrated Parents

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Best Protein Bars  |  April 8, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    appreciate the recipe, i will implement this.

    Reply
  • 2. Jay  |  April 9, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    You should try to make these with Sunbutter – peanut and nut free! Smooth and Crunch available too. The BEST sub I’ve had for peanut butter – and safe for your house:) I buy Sunbutter at the Loblaws in Barrhaven and I believe it’s available in Orleans as well. In the organic section.

    Reply
  • 3. fitforakid  |  April 9, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    Thanks Jay! I’ll try that. I have not yet found a nut-free substitute that I like, but I’ll try Sunbutter and report back.

    Reply
  • 4. SunButter Lover  |  April 14, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    One of the great things I get to do in my job is work with SunButter products. So when I saw your reader suggested it, I took interest. I can’t imagine living with the constant threat of allerigic reactions from something as simple as a childhood favorite like peanut butter.
    If you do try SunButter and like it, it’s good to know you can use it in any recipe that calls for peanut butter. So all those classic kid treats like puppy chow, special K bars and the like, are no longer off limits to the kiddos with alleries.
    Hop over to my blog is you’d like to pick up some peanut-free recipes. http://www.sunbutter.com/blog/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


