Picky Eaters and Frustrated Parents

March 31, 2010 at 4:51 pm 6 comments

D age 2; he still makes this face when he is serious about something. He is serious about his love of fruit.

Yesterday we noticed there was a call from little D’s school on our phone though no message was left.  When I picked him up at the end of the day, I asked the teacher why they had called.  Apparently, my son was not happy with his lunch.  He did not like the corn and peas that we packed for him.  I remembered he liked green and yellow combined before, but when I asked him, he reminded me it was edamame and corn, not peas and corn.

Well, given his dissatisfaction with the peas/corn combo, he would not eat anything and by 2 pm he was angry and tired and had a complete meltdown.  After what the teacher called “a very long time”, he calmed down and they came up with a solution.  He would have some of his grapes with crackers that the school had and a rice cake (I did not know that he liked rice cakes).

Last evening, we discussed lunch for today.  This is what we ended up with:

Morning snack:  Apple and rice crackers

Lunch:  Mashed potatoes, raw carrots and raw cucumbers.

Afternoon snack:  Pear

There a serious lack of protein and fat in this menu!!  Well, I suppose the mashed and the crackers have some fat and there are trace amounts of protein in everything, but come on… I can’t keep feeding him like this.

I offered yogurt and berries (usually he likes this), and lemon loaf – both rejected.

I made sure he had a hearty breakfast, oatmeal with milk and then he wanted special K with milk too…  He also had his multi-vitamin.  We are having hamburgers for dinner…  hopefully that will balance things out.

Then, there is Little C.  He just won’t really eat at mealtimes.  He’s still wanting milk in the morning and milk at bedtime (in a cup not a bottle), he’ll eat snacks of certain fruits, occasionally he eats rice or a bagel, and sometimes he’ll eat fish sticks and/or chicken, but I can’t predict this.  He will not eat vegetables these days (aside from the occasional cucumber), and he loves anything cookie, cake, muffin-esque.

I have spoken to my family doc about this and she told me not to worry… but it’s just so frustrating.  From day-to-day, I cannot plan meals for them because I have no idea what they will or will not eat.

I would love some suggestions from parents of other picky eaters!

Entry filed under: nutrition, Parenting. Tags: , , .

Elisha’s Home-made Energy/Protein Bars Good News and Bad News – Allergy Update

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stefania (Ingredients for Life)  |  March 31, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    I feel your pain. My oldest is very specific about what she likes to eat and that sometimes can change from day-to-day. However, I have found that she will a lot more variety if the food is presented as a snack. I pull out muffin tins and fill them with various finger foods, including nuts, fruit, veggies, bread, a treat such as a Hershey kiss, etc. She gobbles it up.
    I also found that if I puree soup she’ll eat it. She loves smoothies including green ones. She’s okay with smooth textures but if I gave her chili it’s the end of the world. Too much going on!
    Muffins can also be hearty and full of nutrients.
    Leaving out snacks within reach helps a lot too (chopped up veggies, pretzels, etc). Children may not like sitting down for a meal but enjoy the flexibility of eating when hungry b/c it gives them some kind of control.
    I know that it’s harder when they go off to school but including them in lunch preparation is a good step.
    I hope this helps.

    Reply
  • 2. Molly  |  March 31, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Alistair ate EVERYTHING. Kat, not so much. Breakfast she’ll eat just about anything but the rest of the day…muffins, cookies and fruit. Unless she see’s the muffin first then the once loved pear is quickly forgotten.

    I’ve been worrying about this but my Mom reminded me about a cousin who only ate white food. For years. And God help you if there was a lump in the white mashed potatoes. He moved on to peanut butter but, again, if he found one crunch in the smooth Skippy, you were done for.

    Today, this same cousin is a healthy 20 something who lists sushi as one of his favourite meals. There’s hope in that…

    Reply
  • 3. Da Real Mommy  |  March 31, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    My oldest was and still is kinda picky about what he likes or says he likes to eat, and he’s 12. Our youngest is a little garbage disposal and eats everything I give him with very few exceptions. But I have just over the year with the oldest told him you at least try what i give you or you don’t eat. I was never a picky eater, and we had been told he was only doin it cause we let him do it. Needless to say it’s gotten alot easier to get him to eat whatever I put in front of him and if he trys something and doesn’t like it (except for veggies cause he hates those no matter what) I don’t make him eat it. It sucks but you’ll make it threw. Just try to be strong and see what you can get them to try. I also use to tell our oldest that any meat we were having was from a different kind of dinosaur. He loved them still does and it worked lol. Yes darling we’re having T-Rex roast for dinner tonight! lmao!

    Reply
  • 4. fitforakid  |  March 31, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    Stefania – I remember reading a post on your blog awhile back and recently was trying to find it – glad I did! I like your suggestions. I guess I’m too focused on mealtime. I’m also going to take your suggestion and start baking more with lots of healthy ingredients.

    Molly – glad I’m not the only one – and glad to hear about your white food cousin…

    Da Real Mommy – love the dinosaur suggestion – they LOVE dinosaurs. I’ll keep trying the “just try it”. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Reply
  • 5. Jules  |  April 14, 2010 at 2:03 am

    Not sure if your boys like soup but I make a pot of soup every week for M and she loves it. I make different kinds like, carrot, veggie (and put in lots of veggies she won’t eat on their own), leek and potato, lentil etc. I blend it and she loves it. It is really easy to make and I find a great way to get the greens that she needs into her daily. Worth a try.
    Jules

    Reply
  • 6. fitforakid  |  April 16, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    Thanks for the suggestion Jules. They’re funny with soup, the same way they are with other foods. It goes in phases. Will try again very soon and let you know how it goes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


