Cookbook Review – Deceptively Delicious

April 9, 2010 at 6:55 pm 3 comments

As I have lamented in previous posts, I am somewhat frustrated by my boys’ eating habits.  Over the last couple of weeks, Little D has started eating an okay diet again thanks to careful consultation on any given day.  Little C however, not so much.  So, here I am trying to try harder.

On an Easter Monday visit to our local Chapter’s bookstore, I came across the Jessica Seinfeld cookbook, Deceptively Delicious in the kids section.  Now, I know this book is old news as it was published in 2007, but it is new to me.  I would never, in 2007, have imagined “needing” a book like this.  But here I am in mid-2010.

So I bought it.  It has a pretty cover after all.

That afternoon, Little D and I went through it together.   Here are our reviews – mine first, his follows:

This cookbook is visually appetizing and almost delicious to read.  I kept thinking of myself, dressed in a 1950’s outfit, making a beautiful fluffy strawberry jello pie like my Nanny M used to make, and then not having to clean up my mess.

The foreword to the book is written by Dr. Roxana Mehran and Dr. Mehmet Oz.  I am not a fan of Dr. Oz (and here’s a good article from today’s Chicago Tribune that outlines some of my reasons), so that kinda turned me off.

The writing is easy to read, comfy and casual, and the book is well-organized.

But the recipes, and the deception, not so original.  About 85% of the recipes are simply regular recipes, many of them with a bread crumb coating or cheese as a main ingredient, with a puree of sweet potato, squash or cauliflower thrown in.  I’m not really looking to get orange and white starchy vegetables into my children.  Those are the ones that they actually might not object to eating.  And right now, neither boy will touch anything cheesy with a 10′ pole.

Publishing note:  The copy of the book I purchased repeats 30 pages in the middle and is missing the 30 pages that should have been in their place.  I will be returning to the store to try to get a new copy (or exchange it for something better) if I can find the damn receipt.

I did get excited about one recipe for a chocolate dip that I might try.  I believe (off the top of my head) that it included spinach and beets masked with cocoa powder.  Now that I think about it, there must be sugar in that too.  That particular recipe can be the topic of a future post.

Unfortunately, the things that looked best to me were the baked goods, and they contained lots of regular sugar and/or brown sugar which is something I’m trying to avoid overusing.

In summary, my overall impression of the book:  C-

Little D’s review (excerpted from my interview with him):

What do you like about this book?

I like the cute pictures and comments from the children in her (the author’s) family.

“Mommy, there are not many things in this book that look good to me”.

So then, which ones do you like or what should we try to make first?

[points to chocolate cupcakes] These!


N.B.  This post may be comical to my mother or anyone who knows me well, as I rarely cook.  But that doesn’t mean I can read a cookbook and imagine what I might do with it.

Entry filed under: nutrition, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Guns and Other Firearms Lists

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stefania (Ingredients for Life)  |  April 13, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    I saw her on Oprah years ago when I actually watched Oprah. I thought it was a neat idea except the amount of vegetables in each dish is minimal. I did buy the book when I was at Zeller’s one day and it was in the bargain bin. I paid $2 for it. I have yet to use it.
    A great tip for chocolate dip — avocado and cocoa powder (the good stuff). Stir and voila! You can use some maple syrup if it’s a tad too bitter.
    I know as moms we stress over what our kids eat but I’ve had a “a-ha moment” (like Oprah would say). Rather than focusing on what my kids don’t eat I focus on what they do eat and that has helped a lot and has made for less stressful mealtimes.

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  April 13, 2010 at 2:21 pm

      Thanks Stefania – I’m going to try out that dip this week! I agree about the minute quantities of veg. What’s the point really?

      This week, things have really shifted. Suddenly both boys are eating more variety. I agree that we really shouldn’t stress.

      It was a long phase for little C, but I think he’s finally turned around a bit (yesterday carrots and cucumbers at lunch and this morning, leftover blueberry flax pancake for breakfast). And, little D suddenly decided to try cheese after refusing it for 1.5 years.

      Reply
  • 3. Stefania (Ingredients for Life)  |  April 13, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Here’s the recipe (adjust to taste):
    2 ripe avocados
    3 – 5 tablespoons maple syrup (adjust to taste)
    3 – 5 tablespoons cocoa powder (adjust to taste)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


