Banana Oatmeal Granola Bars

April 30, 2010 at 1:56 pm 5 comments

I’ve been on a baking kick this week. 

On Tuesday when Derek came home, he exclaimed, “there is some serious housewife action happening here”.   

I was up to my elbows in mixing ingredients for brownies.  I hadn’t planned to make the brownies, but when I got home, the boys were all worked up about going to Starbucks for a treat.  As an alternative, I suggested baking our own sweet something.   Lil D went through a couple of cookbooks and decided on brownies. I would have preferred some sort of whole grain muffin, but I was weak.   

By the time Derek found me, the boys had abandoned me; they were colouring and wait and for the brownies to magically appear.  I can see how he was misled into thinking baking brownies was the first thing on my mind when I got home from a day at work.  

Last night after the boys went to sleep, in our fruitbowl, I noticed some rotting bananas – I learned today from my mom that the correct term is “overripe” – either way, these bananas were on their last legs and needed to be put to good use.   

I was thinking about healthy breakfast options (to counteract the serious brownie binges), so I googled “oats bananas bar”.  I added “oats” to the search because oats and bananas (and raisins) are my favorite foods.  

I found a recipe that looked simple, and adapted it for my nut-free home.   

I can tell you that in less than 24 hours, all 12 servings have been eaten.  Everyone  in the house enjoyed them.  They are not complex or gourmet, but the simple, comfortable flavours and texture were definitely a hit.  If I had one extra ounce of energy, I would make them again right now.  Because, this poor guy is all alone:  

Sad and lonely; the lone remaining overripe banana

 

Homemade Banana & Oats Granola Bar

Granola bar with pumpkin seeds and raisins sweetened just with banana.
Adapted from a recipe found on FatSecret.Com (via Google)

Ingredients

  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 medium bananas, overripe
  • 1/4 cup packed raisins
  • 1/4 cup  pumpkin seeds (chopped almonds in original recipe)
  • 1 cup rolled oats

Directions

  1. Whisk egg whites, combine with overripe mashed banana and cinnamon.
  2. Fold in oats, raisins and almonds.
  3. Pour into a 9″ square well-greased baking dish.
  4. Level the mixture by pressing on it with a spoon. Bake at 350 °F (175 °C) for 40 minutes.
  5. Let cool at least 15 minutes before slicing.

88 calories per serving; 2 g of fat, 2 g of fiber, 3 g of protein  

In the pan… minus a test bite
 
Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Doing “Something” Worst Moment of My Life

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Helen  |  April 30, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    I tried these, and they are SOOOO yummy!
    I used sesame seeds instead of pumpkin seeds or almonds (it’s all I had), and they turned out great.
    I want to point out: No sugar, no dairy, no wheat….and you can use nuts, seeds, whatever…..what a great recipe for people with allergies!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  May 3, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      Glad they worked out for you! I will definitely be making them again towards the end of this week (when the bananas start browning). And yes, they are great for allergy peeps… but I didn’t necessarily want to mention that cause they are just plain easy and good regardless.

      Reply
  • 3. how to have confidence to approach women  |  August 7, 2013 at 2:01 am

    Fine way of explaining, and fastidious piece of writing to take facts regarding my presentation
    subject, which i am going to present in college.

    Reply
  • 4. Soy intolerant in a mostly soy world  |  February 17, 2014 at 12:19 am

    You forgot to say ‘no soy’.

    As Charlie Sheen would say, “Winning!”

    Reply
  • 5. Lakesha  |  May 11, 2014 at 11:55 pm

    I used to be suggested this web site via my cousin. I
    am no longer positive whether this post is written via him as nobody else
    know such designated about my trouble. You’re incredible!
    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


