Sweet Tooth

May 12, 2010 at 4:31 pm Leave a comment

One of the first things I do each morning after reading my emails and attending to urgent requests, is open my Google Reader.   My Reader organizes my favourite blogs by category.  I have set up the following groups:

  • Fitness
  • Food
  • Fun
  • Local Moms and Dads
  • Community

I skim the list for posts from my favourite bloggers, and I open them to read a little later with my coffee.  This exercise reminds me each day of the oxymoron that I am.   You see, the “Food” category could be sub-categorized into “Healthy” and “So Yummy I Wish I Could Eat This All the time”.

There are blogs that are focused on “clean” eating; my personal daily way of eating most of the time.

There are blogs about slow and organic eating; these would be my holy grail, if I were inclined to spend hours in the kitchen.  I’m not, but I still get interesting ideas for recipes and meals.

There are blogs focused on the traditional eating movement; I’m not sure why I read these since I am not into animal flesh or animal fat, but they occasionally have great recipes and interesting perspectives.

And then there are blogs dedicated to baking –  baking ooey, gooey good, delicious recipes that make my mouth water when I read them.  These are my favourite.  I love to bake and I love to eat sticky sweet delicious baked goods, especially with lemon or chocolate.

If your kids (or you) watch Batman, then you will know this guy.  His name is Sweet Tooth and his goal is to use the kids of Gotham City to acquire a never-ending supply of sweets.  Sometimes, I feel like he is the devil on my shoulder.

Two of my current blog loves are CookiePie and Joy the Baker.  Oooh, as I went back to get those links, I noticed that Cookie Baker Lynn also has posted something new; I’ll be there in a second Lynn…

At brunch one recent Sunday morning, some friends and I sat at the dining room table at the end of the meal while the kids played around us.  We were nibbling on some post-brunch lemon squares and date squares and drinking coffee.  It was a perfect moment.  I said to my friend, “I could sit for hours chatting, drinking coffee and eating sweet baked goods”.  And it’s true:  I wish I could do that every day.  But I can’t.  Cause I have responsibilities.  But mostly cause when I do eat those delicious, oh so delicious ooey gooey good chocolate fudge brownies and tart and sweet lemon squares too often, I gain weight, and fat.  And I like not being fat.

And therein lies the dilemma:  How to balance what I love with what I know is good for me and my family.  Ah, balance.  I think that is my holy grail.

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, nutrition. Tags: , , .

Baked Oatmeal… Got it Right this Time Blastball

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


