Desserts from the ‘Hood

May 13, 2010 at 11:57 am 6 comments

I am planning a party, a dessert party to be exact.

You may have read about my love all things sweet here, and that is the reason I have chosen desserts as the party theme.  As luck would have it, Derek and I both share this fondness for sweet treats.

We have decided that for this party, in addition to drinks, we will feature our favourite desserts from all the delicious fooderies, bakeries, and/or restaurants in our neighborhood and those adjacent.

Our party will not be quite so "pretty in pink"

For those of you who live in Ottawa or visit often, here is what we have selected for the preliminary menu so far.  Can you please help us fill in the blanks???

  1. Lemon squares, chocolate macaroons and fresh lemon cream tart from Thyme & Again
  2. Mini vanilla cupcakes from 3 Bakers & a Bike
  3. Chocolate cake from 3 Tarts (would love to have the white chocolate cranberry pistachio tart but we can’t have nuts!)
  4. Strawberry and mint skewers made with produce purchased at the Parkdale Market
  5. Chocolate dipped strawberries made from Cocoa Camino chocolate from Herb & Spice
  6. Other fruit purchased at the Parkdale Market
  7. Cheeses from Il Negozio Nicastro
  8. Art-is-in bread from the Piggy Market
  9. Gelato from Truffle Treasures – how do I do this???  Bowls of ice to keep it cool???
  10. Francesco’s coffee purchased from a Westboro Village Cooperative Preschool fundraiser
  11. Sparkling wine, wine, and a cocktail idea or two from the LCBO (check out this recipe for a Lime Collins)
  12. Beer from the Beer Store (disgusting combination with sweets, but Derek will insist so I won’t even try to skip this)

More ideas?  What are your favorite desserts from the Westboro, West Wellington and Hintonburg ‘hoods?

Entry filed under: Otown. Tags: , , , , , , .

Blastball Hope for Kate

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brie  |  May 13, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    That is a great idea. Sounds like it will be a fun party!

    Reply
  • 2. Molly  |  May 14, 2010 at 2:08 am

    I have an idea for serving gelato…I went to a wedding and they served frozen strawberry daiquiris on a popsicle stick. You could see if Lara would make a special batch or, I’m thinking, gelato is pretty soft and I bet you could buy the pints and re-freeze it in popsicle holders.

    Reply
  • 3. Kristen @ Motherese  |  May 15, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    I don’t live anywhere near Ottawa, but am suddenly considering a move there. 🙂 Your party sounds like delicious fun!

    Reply
  • 4. Helen  |  May 18, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    Mmmmm……
    Harvest Loaf has almond croissants that are to die for (but I know you can’t do it because of allergies – you could try the chocolate ones which I’ve never had because of MY allergies!), so you may want to check out their pies which are delicious – on the subject of pies, you could also check out the ones across the street at Parma Ravioli – they come in lots of varieties and are super yummy.

    Reply
    • 5. fitforakid  |  May 18, 2010 at 3:00 pm

      Yes pie… I’ve seen them at Parma Ravioli. They look great and the prices are really reasonable. But I’m afraid they may not be finger food friendly. I will think about it.

      Also great to know about the croissants at Harvest Loaf. I am allergic to croissants. My hips react very badly.

      Reply
      • 6. Helen  |  May 26, 2010 at 11:10 pm

        I seem to have the same allergy as you do, though mine spreads from my hips to my thighs…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


