Tidbits from a Sunny Monday

May 18, 2010 at 1:11 am 12 comments

The sun outside my window is distracting me from any real reflection, so I’m just going to jot down a few tidbits that are occupying my small brain today:

1) Just before the Easter long weekend, I did a TV segment with my trainer Elisha and one of the owners of Greco Lean & Fit, Tony Greco.  We were demonstrating various exercises and Tony was suggesting ways to incorporate fitness into your long weekend.  I kinda laughed to myself when he suggested getting out things from your garage and making an obstacle course for you and your kids.  I thought – yeah right… as if they would ever be interested in that.

Well, yesterday, while Lil C napped and Derek worked, Lil D and I spent a good hour and a half doing just that, and it was Lil D’s idea.

It began with hopscotch on the driveway with sidewalk chalk.  And then that grew to two hopscotch courses, and then three.   And then I suggested we incorporate some other obstacles to jump over and Lil D added some other things to retrieve and, well, it kinda goes on from there.  We did it one at a time, and then did it follow the leader style.  I tried to add in some pushups but after 2 rounds of that, he promptly suggested we remove them.

Lil D even had us making sure to take a sip of water between each of our (probably 40) rounds, and commented “I can really feel the water working in my body to keep me going”.

Fun family fitness – Tony, you were right!

2)  Have you ever tried Greek Yogurt?  I tried it for the first time about 3 weeks ago.  I had never before been able to find it on the store shelves.  Well, I was missing out, and you are too if you haven’t tried it.  Just to be clear, I am NOT talking about Mediterranean Yogurt.  This is specifically Greek Yogurt.  It is thick and creamy.  It contains 110 calories per 175 ml serving, with 0% fat and a whopping 20g of protein.

In Ottawa, I found the real Greek Yogurt at Herb & Spice on Wellington West.

My new fav snack is half a cup (or a little more) of Greek Yogurt with frozen raspberries and a tablespoon of ground flax seed.  If I’m really crazing something super sweet, I add a little maple syrup.  YUM.

3)  I’m trying to plan a few fun weekend getaways with the kids this summer.  We are planning a Tremblant weekend in late August with another family, a road trip to Washington DC to visit friends and family in early August, but I’m looking for another short weekend getaway in early July.  Any ideas?  Do not suggest camping.  I do not camp (for so many reasons).

4)  I made the best sweet “sometimes” treat on Friday night.  We will call them Brookies, not a cookie, not a brownie, but a Brookie.  Below is the recipe for this eewy chewy gooey yummy treat.  I ate way too many of them in lieu of proper meals on Saturday, and we served them to two batches of guests this weekend.  They are so rich that you can really cut them into bite size squares.  I will definitely be making these again.

Brookies

2 3/4 cup all purpose flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup butter, softened
1 lb. light brown sugar (I couldn’t bear to put that much in so I reduced it a tad)
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
11.5 ounce package milk chocolate chips
1/2 cup dessicated coconut

The original recipe called for pecans but since we don’t do nuts, I subbed with coconut and it WORKED.

Sift flour, baking powder and salt into a large bowl. Set aside.
Stir brown sugar into softened (not melted) butter in another large bowl until butter disappears. You can use the back of your spoon to help incorporate the two together.
Add eggs one at a time to butter mixture and stir well after each egg.
Add vanilla, chocolate chips and coconut. Mix well.
Add dry flour mixture and stir until well combined.

Coat a 13 X 9 pan with non-stick spray and spread batter evenly into dish.
Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes or until top is golden brown. Use a toothpick to insert and check for doneness before removing from the oven.  If the top is already brown but the centre isn’t cooked, place foil over top and bake a little longer.  My version was slightly underbaked and I think that made them even more delicious.

Adapted from a recipe on Bakerella.Com

Entry filed under: Fitness, General Ramblings On, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Hope for Kate Gardening. A Case of Child Influencing Parent

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tracey  |  May 18, 2010 at 1:27 am

    If you’ve never been to Sandbanks in Picton-it’s a great little town and a great beach. We used to go every year. Wine, beach, b&b’s.
    Similar to Tremblant, we love the Blue Mountain area in Collingwood. Wasaga Beach isn’t far, but there’s Blue Mountain resort and pools, shopping etc.

    Reply
  • 2. fitforakid  |  May 18, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Good thinking! We haven’t been to Sandbanks since Lil D was a baby. I’m going to look into it right now. Thanks Tracey!

    Reply
  • 3. Kristen @ Motherese  |  May 19, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    So many great suggestions here. It’s been raining here for 3 straight days so now I’m thinking about the feasibility of an obstacle course IN the garage. (I’ll probably have to move the car out first!) And I’m totally with you on Greek yogurt and the appeal of those br-ookies. Delicious!

    Reply
    • 4. Liisa  |  May 20, 2010 at 10:04 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Kristen. Hope it’s nicer out where you out today.

      Reply
  • 5. coffee with julie  |  May 24, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    Obstacle course! ha! That is a good idea! I bet I could even gather a good number of neighbourhood kids to join in!

    I’ve been wanting to go to the Sandbanks forever too. Maybe this summer? I can also suggest Montreal as a great spot for a weekend getaway. I’ve done it a few days and had a ball! (and NO camping required!) If you’re interested in prices, places to stay, etc, just type in “montreal” in my search bar. I

    Reply
  • 6. Jackie  |  May 26, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Love the obstacle course idea! I have tried that in the winter time inside my house just running around, doing push-ups, sit ups etc. It works for days you can’t get them outside.
    If you find a place that sells greek yogurt let me know but I did find a DELICIOUS one that is even kosher, I was College Square loblaws in the kosher section and because they import from US for kosher items they have a small greek yogurt, forgot the name of it, but its only 80 calories and its so good!!

    Reply
    • 7. fitforakid  |  May 26, 2010 at 1:59 pm

      Jackie – I found it at Herb & Spice on Wellington West and it’s $4.99 a tub. They also have it at the Ottawa Bagel Shop across the street, but it’s $5.49. I’ll check the College Square Loblaws next time I’m in the area to try out that brand.

      Reply
      • 8. Jackie  |  May 28, 2010 at 12:15 pm

        crap I was just in Herb and Spice yesterday and forgot to check. Thanks for the tip Liisa! The one at Loblaws is in small serving size (grossly expensive) but its handy for lunch on the go.

      • 9. fitforakid  |  June 1, 2010 at 4:08 pm

        Quick follow-up: I purchased the Liberté Greek yogurt at Produce Depot on the weekend. Jackie, I think you probably go buy there quite often.

  • 10. Erica at Kitchissippikids  |  May 26, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Now you’ve got me thinking about lovely summer weekends away. I’m guessing you’re going with the kids so….my top picks would be (1) Mt. Tremblant – I’ve only been there for skiing but hear it’s fabulous in the summer. If you rent a condo make sure you get beach access. (2) Granby Zoo – I know some people are opposed to the whole concept of zoos, but, if you’re not, this one is great. It is much more digestable for children than the Toronto Zoo and it has a wonderful water park attached. The zoo area has lots of trees so it’s possible to get out of the sun, the animals are relatively close together (though still in pleasant habitats) so it’s possible to see quite a few without walking huge distances and there is a small aerial train as well so that you can see the animals from above when your kids need a rest. The water park features a gentle “river” for inner tubes, suitable for quite young children, a large outdoor wave pool and another big wading pool with a fabulous play structure. On a busy weekend traffic can be busy from Montreal as it’s not on a major highway. There’s plenty of nice accomodation in nearby Bromont etc. (3) Toronto – ok, maybe this seems boring but – have you done Centre Island amusement park with your kids? It’s perfect for those of your kids’ age and one of the best things is that most of the rides are designed so that kids do them on their own and in fact adults are often too tall to participate! (I get sick on rides so it’s a plus for me). On a rainy day, Kidspark at the Ontario Science Centre and dinner at the Rainforest Cafe (it’s not that the food is so fabulous but that our kids were willing to have a long lleisurely dinner in the company of all the “animals”.) is another option.

    Have fun whatever you do!

    Reply
    • 11. fitforakid  |  May 26, 2010 at 5:32 pm

      Erica – someone else mentioned the Granby Zoo to me too… great info. Definitely on my list.

      Last night I decided that unless we neeeeeed a July vacation, we will not plan anything. We may just go to Toronto and stay with friends (in an attempt to save $$)… and then we can do those great things that you suggested. I went to Centre Island for work about 10 years ago, and I know my boys would love it!

      Reply
      • 12. Erica at Kitchissippikids  |  May 27, 2010 at 3:07 am

        2 other Toronto favorites, which you may already know, are Reptilia – a state of the art reptile zoo north of Toronto (my husband held a python to the delight of the boys) and Mastermind Toys, with various outlets around the city.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


