Gardening. A Case of Child Influencing Parent

May 26, 2010 at 6:43 pm 4 comments

Formatting issues a result of ill-tempered WordPress software; I apologize.

“Gardening” is defined by Dictionary.Com as a verb meaning to lay out, cultivate, or tend a garden.
This is news to me.  Well, to be honest, I did know the definition but I had never really contemplated its meaning.  I just thought of it as something others do when they have too much time on their hands.
As a child, I used to make fun of younger brother for his love of tending the vegetables or the flowers with my mother in the little garden plot.  In fact, at his wedding, I believe I even teased him about his interest in showing me the pretty gardens in the Paris he had gotten to know.
We had our new house landscaped with the lowest maintenance option we could (and the most eco-friendly).  We reforested most of our back and front yards with native tree species.  The boys won’t be playing on a lawn but rather in their own private mini-forest.
House under construction; late fall 2009
But now, I’m craving blooms.  And I have a new house.  And I bought top soil today at lunch time (5 bags of the plain stuff and 3 bags of the good fertilizer stuff).  My life has changed.
I think it’s lil D’s fault.  You see, his school is all about nature…  they have a nature table where they place items they’ve found in nature; they plant seeds and watch them grow; and they have flower beds and a vegetable garden in their school yard which the children planted.

I hear about these activities and I see the joy and pride that is derived from them.

Recently, lil D brought home a mung bean shoot which he had grown from a bean.  I killed it within a day (I knocked it over and accidentally but something heavy right on the shoot).  I felt bad…  I told Lil D not to worry, we could plant another.
But I have no idea how.And I need to learn.

And, there’s no better time than the present.

And I’m going to make sure to involve my two little green thumbs to join me for good luck.

So here’s my 2010 Gardening Do-(Some of)It-Yourself Plan:
  1. Purchase pretty planters for our deck. √
  2. Ask green thumb neighbour what she suggests for the little bed that was left for us to do ourselves √ (she suggested mini spirea and something else which I’ve already forgotten but she said she could give me – some sort of groundcover).
  3. Hire someone to plant (and teach me about) gorgeous tropical arrangements in some of the planters so that I have instant beauty before our party. √
  4. Purchase top soil for the planters. √
  5. Try to grow a cherry tomato plant from seed (kit given to me as a gift) in progress
  6. Purchase mini spirea and dig a whole in which to stick  it.
  7. Plant hosta given to me from a friend’s garden (he has what appears to me to be a farm in his backyard… totally amazing).
  8. Purchase some herbs to plant and use for delicious summer meals.  I’m thinking definitely parsley, basil, cilantro and mint.
My new hosta is so pretty; I hope it survives my care
I’m tired already and I still have a trunk full of soil to unload.
I will take pics of our progress.  I hope green thumbs are catching, and I hope we have fun.
Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Parenting. Tags: , , .

Tidbits from a Sunny Monday Brothers

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Finola  |  May 26, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    Good luck!
    Please post your gardening tips once you learn it all. My garden is a complete embarassment right now and I have no idea what to do with it!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  May 27, 2010 at 12:37 am

      Boys had fun filling up the pots with soil… but I’ve got a mess on my hands. I’m hoping for a storm to wash the mess away… Too tired to to tackle it right now. Will keep you posted.

      Reply
  • 3. Helen  |  May 26, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    This year my kids decided they wanted a vegetable garden. My backyard is about the size of a postage stamp, so I decided to buy tomato, pepper, cucumber, and zucchini plants and try to grow them in pots. I bought fairly well established ones (read: more expensive) in hopes that we might actually produce a vegetable. I got large pots, and a few bags of soil. All told I was in about $75 (probably more than I would have spent on these veggies in the store) – but WOW, is it worth it!
    The kids LOVED planting the seedlings, and everyday after school, they run out to see how their plants are doing. They water them, count the flowers, and gobble up any red cherry tomatoes (I decided to buy one of these already covered in green fruit). What a great learning experience for them (and me!).
    Keep it up, and tell me how it goes!

    Reply
  • 4. Lynn  |  May 27, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    I have a terrible track record with plants of all kinds. I can’t keep anything alive in the house and our yard…shudder. This year is the first year I am trying a vegetable garden with the kids – they were really keen and I felt it would be a good project for them. I’m preparing myself for nothing to actually grow, but you never know!

    We should compare notes later this season and see if we learned anything :).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


