Brothers

June 2, 2010 at 3:15 pm 3 comments

I often wonder if I parent my children based on their personalities, or if their personalities are a reflection of the way I treat them.  I’m guessing it’s a bit of both, but I just find raising two children of the same gender who are relatively close in age so fascinating.  Perhaps it’s because I had a sibling of the opposite sex who was almost four years younger than me, or perhaps it’s just because they are my boys and I’m into them.

My boys were born twenty-two months apart.  Lil D is older.  He was born in late October 2005 and Lil C was born in late August 2007.

About a month before Lil C was born, I remember feeling so sad that Lil D would never again have all of my love and attention.  I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to love them both equally, because how could  I love another child as much as I loved Lil D?

Derek would remind me that I love my brother, and I would much rather have grown up with a sibling than without.

I’m happy to report that the minute Lil D was born, I knew there would be enough love to go around. But what I hadn’t anticipated, was the joy it would bring me  to watch  my two boys together.

Early cuddles

N, our nanny, describes them as lion cubs.  They wrestle, and sometimes fight, usually instigated by Lil C; and they cuddle on the couch while Lil C plays with Lil D’s hair and ears and sucks his thumb.  On more than one occasion when one child has come home from an activity to find his brother out somewhere, there have been tears of disappointment.

They are so different, from their physical characteristics like hair and body type, to their personalities.  Lil C has fair curly hair and olive skin.  His muscles are more defined and he is aggressive and adventurous, with a mischievous “class clown” personality.

People tell me they look alike, but I can hardly see it

A built-in playmate

Lil D is intense and observant.   His skin is lighter and his hair is darker.  He was a rounder toddler than Lil C.

So, what do you think?  Is it me?  Or is it them?

My first child is cautious and doesn’t smile as easily as his younger brother.  Baby photos prove that this has always been the case.  Lil C is a cuddly mama’s boy and Lil D is a much less demanding (or willing) cuddler.  His favourite  parent is his dad.

Are we the reason, or are they?

Imagine this scene in 15 years?

One thing is for sure, these two are buddies for life and it’s so much fun to watch.  Except when I’m pulling them off each other and get a broken nose (yes, it happened).

"Cheers. To pants optional snack time"

Price gouging at the pretend grocery store

Waiting for their "usual" at the bar at the local Tex Mex joint; another glimpse into the future

So here are my questions to you:

1. Do you treat each of your children differently and do you have a different set of expectations for each of them?  I know I do, though I don’t mean to.

2. Were you/are you concerned about having enough love to go around?

3.  Are your children (from the same set of parents) different physically and/or otherwise?

Looking forward to your insights.

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Parenting. Tags: , , , .

Gardening. A Case of Child Influencing Parent A War of Wills

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Finola  |  June 3, 2010 at 2:14 am

    1. Yes, I do treat them differently because they have completely different personalities. But i try to give them the same amount of attention even if it is different.

    2. I never worried about that but I know a lot of people who did until the seoond one arrived. I so love both of them.

    3. Complete opposite personalities! It really is incredible. Both so wonderful but so different. It makes parenting more challening because what worked for one does not necessarlily work for the other. But it also makes it more rewarding and fun!

    And I agree, I love the interactions between my children. When they get along and are considerate to each other, my heart just melts.

    Reply
  • 2. Lara  |  June 3, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    The twins just turned one so I’m only starting to see how they all interact together. It’s fascinating and I can’t wait to see how it really develops.
    They all have quite different personalities, although the two boys seem a lot more laid back than my daughter. She’s the loudest and I expect will be the boss around here. Or at least will try to be.
    Physically, my boys couldn’t be more different. My 1 year old son is wearing clothing my older son wore until he was… almost 3! They have the same size waist, Kiernan is simply taller. 😉
    I remember thinking I would love all my kids but wondered how I could possibly like and think anyone else was as cool as Kiernan 😉

    Reply
    • 3. fitforakid  |  June 4, 2010 at 1:40 pm

      It’s so interesting to watch the dynamic with siblings; I can’t even imagine how intriguing it must be with twins.
      Cute about your daughter being the loudest. I think if I had two brothers (thinking of my boys as an example), I would need to be bossy too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


