A War of Wills

June 3, 2010 at 2:34 pm 10 comments

This time I mean business.  From Saturday onwards, Lil C will wear underwear (except when he’s going somewhere where he can really do damage).  This mother is tired of changing diapers.  The plaque on our section of the landfill will need to get bigger if we don’t do this soon.

But it’s going to be a war.  Lil C is feisty and pig-headed and strong.  He has already fought me tooth and nail on this the few times I’ve physically tried to sit him on the throne.  I’m hoping wet legs and frequent changes will be a good incentive and an intrinsic motivator.  The huge toy steamroller sitting on our counter in the box has not done it.

Last evening we headed out to the superhero underwear mecca, Walmart.  Both boys picked out new undies and we now have Superman, Ironman and Hot Wheels in the house.  Lil C went to preschool this morning with Hot Wheels over his diaper.  That diaper’s days are numbered.

Of course, I have a selfish reason for this new hardcore attitude.  If he’s not toilet trained, he can’t go to day camps.  And if he can’t go to day camps, that means no breaks for this soon-to-be stay at home parent.

I like breaks.  I like morning workouts.  I like time to take a shower and get the house tidied.   The whole summer plan hinges on morning day camps for my Lil C.  Lil D is all set almost all summer, and I’ve got Lil C registered, but they were VERY clear with me about underwear requirements.

So, I’m taking no prisoners.

Battle plans and strategic positions are welcome.  HELP!!

Update June 4th

His interpretation of "wearing underwear"; this is going to be a hard fight, but I'm ready

Entry filed under: Parenting. Tags: , , .

Brothers I forgot to mention…

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. coffee with julie  |  June 3, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    Oh man, toilet training! I am soon going to have to face this one with my son too. My daughter was easy, so I think that means I’ll get it tough with my second.

    Good luck! (Someone told me that they threw cheerios in the toilet and the boy is asked to aim and hit the cheerios – making it a game. Who knows, could work?)

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  June 4, 2010 at 1:37 pm

      I have a feeling boys are different than girls when it comes to this stuff. I am thinking of trying Fruit Loops instead of Cheerios. They once had them on vacation and they always ask for them. Perhaps that could be the reward too (though I wouldn’t put it past him to try to pick one out of the toilet to eat).

      Reply
  • 3. Finola  |  June 4, 2010 at 1:14 am

    I’m sure it will go fine. Just hang in there and outlast him – you have such a great motivation 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. fitforakid  |  June 4, 2010 at 1:35 pm

      Thanks for the encouraging words. I updated this post with a pic taken this morning.

      Reply
  • 5. Lara  |  June 6, 2010 at 1:10 am

    My daycare provider finally got K going just before he turned 3. He was stubborn stubborn stubborn! Good luck and be strong! 😉

    Reply
  • 6. Molly  |  June 6, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    So…we made Alistair clean up his mess, Hardcore, 3 days. It was done. I was so, so, so tired of accidents. He got tired of cleaning it up. It was a HUGE Mommy Win! Let me know if you want details..

    Reply
  • 7. Stefania (Ingredients for Life)  |  June 7, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    How old is your little one? The Peach is now 3.5. About 2 – 3 months ago I decided I had enough with the diapers. I put her in underwear and explained the process. Yes, she had a few accidents but after a week she was fine. We were bold enough to drive to Burlington with her wearing underwear with a couple of pit stops and no accidents. If you’re determined and he “gets it” then it’ll happen. My Peach is stubborn but she knew I meant business so she co-operated after a few days. Keep us posted.

    Reply
    • 8. fitforakid  |  June 7, 2010 at 2:35 pm

      Lil C is exactly 2.75. And, I’m very happy to report, that this will be his third day in those undies (that he now wears correctly) and he is doing great.

      He had one #1 accident yesterday and this morning, one #2 accident which wasn’t pleasant, but he is having great success, enjoying his rewards and really proud of himself.

      With Lil D, I tried much earlier and it was a long drawn out process. This time I waited a little longer and was super consistent and strict about trying every hour or two. I’m not counting my chickens just yet, but I’m optimistic. He gets it, and that’s the most important part.

      Reply
  • 9. Brie  |  June 9, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    I so need to get on this but it is daunting. 😦

    Reply
  • 10. adifey  |  June 10, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    oh my goodness, I just stubbled across your blog and I have to tell you it is soo freakin cute!! That pictures is just too priceless!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


