Shopping Recap – Summer ’10

June 24, 2010 at 12:38 pm 1 comment

Early last week I was at a conference in Toronto and managed to escape for a few hours of shopping before my flight home.  In a previous post I promised to recap my trip if it was successful.  I would say it was.   

Warning:  This post has nothing to do with kids, beyond the fact that a happy (well-dressed) mom enjoys her time with kids even more.  In addition, this post may be extremely boring for those of you who don’t love to shop.  I just get carried away when I start thinking about this stuff… how deep.  

I began at The Bay on Queen Street.  Let me say that this store is NOT the same as its namesake in Ottawa.  It was much better stocked, better organized, better merchandized, and better staffed.  I inadvertently began in the shoe department.  I went back and forth between a few pairs of shoes, but settled on a fantastic pair of black platform espadrilles by Pedder Red.  I have already worn these twice so I would say they were a good buy.  No photo – sorry.   

Next I headed to the women’s clothing dept.  I perused the higher end stuff but quickly headed to my go-tos, Esprit, Kenzie, Kersh, Free People.  I didn’t find much except this cute Esprit tank on sale for less than $25.  

Esprit Cotton Slub Tank with Embroidery

 

Bags in hand, I jumped on the subway to Yorkville where I headed straight to Anthropologie.  I had been there in April and got a few things, so this time I didn’t find anything new that really captured my interest (so disappointing).  

I left there and went down the street to my other Yorkville favourite, Over the Rainbow.  I tried on about 10 pairs of jeans and settled on these straight leg dark denim Citizens of Humanity pair.  They can be rolled at the bottom to wear with flats, or worn full length with heels.  They’re a summer weight, but truly they’re dark so I could wear them all year.  The photo is not of me – I have a head and my skin is not quite that white – though I’m kinda hoping my legs look like that in these jeans.  

New C.o.H dark jeans

 

I also picked up this Velvet by Graham Spencer grape-coloured long cotton slub cardigan for 40% off (photo does not do the colour justice).  

Velvet long cotton slub cardigan

 

I still had some time (I am a stealth shopper), so I wandered into The Gap at Bay and Bloor thinking I might find a t-shirt or two for Derek or me.  Instead I found this amazing maxi dress for half price in black; I wore it with my new espadrilles to my parents’ anniversary party. 

Bought this dress in black

 

Okay, even I’m getting bored here, so to finish, at Capezio, I got these amazing Michael Kors clogs.  At one point I had coveted a higher-heeled version, but practical me won out.  I have worn these half a dozen times already – a great buy.  

Michael Kors clogs

 

Oh, can’t forget to mention that the day before, during a lunch break walk on Queen West, I got an adorable little jersey black strapless dress for everyday at a small boutique (for less than $50).     

Also managed to get little gifts for the kids plus 3 shirts and 2 pairs of shorts for my man…  he has worn all and I’m very pleased!

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On. Tags: .

What will you do with yourself? What’s in a Name

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Finola  |  July 1, 2010 at 1:42 am

    I loved this post even though I don’t like shopping. I do like to have nice things though but I am so hopeless at shopping that I usually end up paying way too much for everything because I can’t be bothered to look around more.

    I love the jeans and white shirt…how cute would that be at a summer BBQ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


