Perfectly Imperfect Oat Pancakes

July 10, 2010 at 10:35 am 4 comments

My mom is an excellent cook.  Someday, I’ll tell you about her love of cooking, entertaining and eating.  I would describe her cooking style as “home-style bistro fresh”.  She does not like processed foods (except sausage; I mentioned that passion here).  But, there’s one processed, pre-packaged food that she swears by, and that’s Aunt Jemima’s Buttermilk Pancake mix.  She believes that this mix provides a consistent, fluffy pancake. 

To be fair, her pancakes do turn out great each and every time.  They look round and golden and fluffy, and they absorb maple syrup perfectly.   But frankly, I like mine better.  I like pancakes with texture.  If I’m out for brunch and there’s some sort of muesli or grainy pancake I’m all over it; otherwise, I’m just not interested. 

So, when my friend gave me this recipe just after we had returned to work after our first maternity leaves, I was excited!  We were both struggling to figure out our new daycare/work routines and this was a recipe she used for breakfast and often packed for her baby’s lunch at daycare (she chose to provide the food for the first while).

I ran the recipe through this nutrition calculator and was pleasantly surprised.  The recipe below makes a large quantity of pancakes.  I would say it serves 4 very hungry adults, or 6 regular servings, of which my children might eat half. 

These can be served with maple syrup, but I actually enjoy them plain since they do contain brown sugar and cinnamon.

Today I made these for lunch.  Lil D took a look at his plate and said, “Nana’s pancakes are better”.

I replied, “Nana’s pancakes look better, but mine taste better”. 

He took a bite, and without looking up, replied, “You’re right; these are better”.  That’s my boy…

N.B.  Lil D was in fact correct:  This batch of pancakes looked horrible.  As a result, there is no photographic evidence.

Oat Pancakes

1 and ½ cups oats (not instant)

2 cups skim milk

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp baking powder

Pinch of salt

1 tsp cinnamon

3 eggs

¼ cup canola oil

  1. Mix oats and milk in a small bowl.  Set aside until milk is absorbed. 
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a mixing bowl.  Mix well. 
  3. Combine oil and eggs and beat well into the oat mixture.
  4.  Add oat mixture to flour mixture all at once.
  5. Pour batter by ¼ cupfuls onto preheated, lightly greased pan or griddle.
  6. Cook until fluffy and bubbles break on surface.  Turn and cook on other side.

Serves 6

Nutrition Facts

 
Serving Size 162 g
(based on 6 servings in recipe)
 
Amount Per Serving
Calories 310
Calories from Fat 116
 
Total Fat 12.9g
Saturated Fat 1.7g
Trans Fat 0.0g
Cholesterol 95mg
 
Sodium 99mg
 
Total Carbohydrates 39.6g
 
Dietary Fiber 2.9g
 
Sugars 7.5g
Protein 10.4g
Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , .

My Kid-Friendly Restaurant Review at Kids in the Capital Today Historical Perspective

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lara  |  July 11, 2010 at 2:40 am

    ooh thanks! I’m always looking for new pancake ideas. I’m going to try this!

    Reply
  • 2. Laura Quirk  |  August 7, 2010 at 2:59 am

    I have never tried a textured pancake, well besides if it has fruit in it, like blueberries or bananas or I guess chocolate chips, so maybe those technically count as texture, but they aren’t grainy or oaty. I am going to try out your recipe. My dad’s recipe is our favorite and it makes very thin pancakes which I love. I find too thick of a pancake is often too sweet with syrup. I think I might like a texture addition though. Thanks for the tip!

    Reply
    • 3. Liisa  |  August 8, 2010 at 12:15 am

      Let Me know how you end up liking them!

      Reply
  • 4. The Last 10 Days in Baking « Fit for a kid  |  October 25, 2010 at 1:23 am

    […] lastly, tomorrow morning’s oat pancake batter shall soon be prepared (by special request from the birthday […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


