Back to…

September 7, 2010 at 2:42 pm 3 comments

…school, routine, blogging, basics – fill in the blanks and I’m probably back to it today. 

Back to School 

The boys went off to school together this morning.  Lil C is joining Lil D at his little Montessori school.  They were so cute walking up the stairs in the little house that is their school one behind the other.  They didn’t even look back.  

People talk about sadness or tears when their kids go off to school.  Not from me.   I felt joy because they are together and they are so happy and proud to be there together.  There is a yiddish word for the way I felt (I can’t believe I’m referencing yiddish, but this word is so perfect).  The word is to “kvell”.  I think it means that your heart is bursting with joy because you are so proud.  That’s how I felt.  No sadness – not from me. 

 

Back to Routine 

I like lists.  I like organization.  I like routine.  As I have written before, I am now an “at-home” mom, so the structure that I crave must be self-imposed.  I have created a schedule for myself that I think will work – I’ll report back on this after a month or so.  

I have booked time for workouts, for work on the family business (note I no longer call it Derek’s business), outlined specific blocks of time for family appointments, and even booked days where I can do things for moi.  

I am currently writing this in a “work on the family business” block of time.  Good thing Derek doesn’t read this. 

I am also planning on some of my work times being at the local coffee shop as I like to be there amidst the hustle and bustle.  Oooh – this is an opportune moment to show you this – a birthday gift from my parents: 

Finally proper coffee in my house

 

Back to Blogging 

I think I wrote two posts over the summer.  I was so busy having fun in the sun, I really felt I had nothing to say.  I’m hoping to have more this fall.  

My sideblog project with my grandmother is a go.  We are planning a couple of hours together each week to talk (it’s on my official schedule).  She is so thrilled with this.  She told me she has tried many times to write  her story but she just ends up curled up in a ball in tears.  By telling her story to someone else, she can stay more focused.  I’m so glad to have this opportunity. 

Back to Basics 

This is about back to basics with food.  This summer I had this idea that I was going to get my body fat down lower than it’s been.  I’m not sure why.  I just like to set goals and this was the one I set.  I was not successful.  I attempted several times to eat frequent high protein low/no carb meals and managed to do it for a day or so and then binged on chocolate or other sugar/fat combos in the evening.  All I think I have managed to do is make myself think about food all the time – something I had managed to reduce over the last 1o years. 

So, beginning today, I’m back to basics.  I can eat carbs.  I can eat dairy (not that I didn’t, but that was suggested to me).   I will still follow clean eating principles, but I will make sure complex carbs and yogurt are incorporated. 

My goal is no longer 14% body fat.  It’s a healthy attitude to food (and less chocolate). 

I just finished the most delicious bowl of organic plain yogurt, flax seeds, strawberries and half a scoop of protein powder.  Yum. 

Happy school year 10-11 everyone!

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Nanny A's Story, nutrition, Parenting. Tags: , .

(3 is) The Magic Number Kids, Activities, and Physical Activity

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa Stevens  |  September 7, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    I’m glad to see your blog back. I enjoy reading it.
    I am like you, whenever I try to diet I always think and obsess about food even more. I end up also bingeing after a few days. My schedule is usually eat well and diet (follow ww points) all week, get sick of it by Fri and binge all weekend on wine and chocolate and ice cream. Mon comes I feel awful, back on the points again!
    On a side note, let’s go for a run again. I’m not sick anymore.

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  September 7, 2010 at 10:13 pm

      Thanks for the comment Lisa. I think I have a whole other post In me on the food/body image issue.

      Yes, a run before the cold weather comes would be great.

      Reply
  • 3. Brie  |  September 8, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Happy back to school! I hope the transition goes well. It sounds like you have a great plan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


