Under the Influence

September 18, 2010 at 6:10 pm 7 comments

Below this paragraph you will find a photo of my best friend’s children.  They are 6.5 and 4.  They live in The Big City (Toronto).  They come to Ottawa once or twice a year to visit their grandparents and we usually get to see them too.  We also go visit them a couple of times a year.  

They look perfect, don't they?

 

 The Boy is a force to be reckoned with and my boys really like him; actually, they really love both kids.  Even when they haven’t seen him in months and months, they never forget them.  

Last Saturday they were in town and they came over to our home.  The Boy brought a large jar (about 1L) of “Silly Bandz”.  If you are not familiar with Silly Bandz, you are lucky.  I am no longer lucky.  I am now familiar with Silly Bandz thanks to The Boy. 

These are Silly Bandz, elastic bands shaped like animals, things, comic book characters, really anything.  

 

Silly Bandz cost $5.99 CAD for a package.  

The Boy must have had approximately 25 packages in his jar (correct me if I’m wrong here).  Apparently, at his school, they trade them and play with them and wear them and just generally covet and admire them.  

The Boy has a very generous nature.  He absolutely would not leave without giving a Silly Band (do I add the “z” for the singular?) to each of my sons.  

Since my boys really look up to The Boy, now they like Silly Bandz too.  In fact, the minute The Boy left, we had to go up to the local toy store with allowance money and purchase a pack for each boy.  We now have a pack of Rainforest Animals and a pack of Dinosaurs.  Of course, we needed to have a special container like The Boy had, though right now, thankfully the tiny plastic snack containers I selected are much smaller than the one he toted around with him. 

The circles we run in are not yet obsessed with Silly Bandz, so, at this point we are a one packet per child family.  

Though in this particular case, I find the introduction to Silly Bandz somewhat annoying (to me, not the boys!), I love that the boys look up to a friend who I know will be positive influence.  He has such a kind, sweet, generous and energetic disposition. 

Check out these photos to see the genius/luck of the marketing team at Silly Bandz. 

Do your kids have older friends who have a strong influence on them?  I’m wondering how this will evolve over time…

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Parenting. Tags: , , .

“If I Didn’t Have a Sense of Humour, I Wouldn’t Be Alive” The Origin of Life Amongst the Apple Trees

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie Drury  |  September 18, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    I had to laugh at this post…i have also fallen victim to Silly Bandz. The ‘rage’ has hit Broadview PS in Westboro too!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  September 20, 2010 at 1:15 pm

      So you know just as well as I do how truly “silly” they are.

      Reply
  • 3. Lynn  |  September 20, 2010 at 1:57 am

    I totally do not get the Silly Bandz thing. Do you wear them like bracelets? Curious.

    Reply
    • 4. fitforakid  |  September 20, 2010 at 1:14 pm

      Lynn, some where them like bracelets; others just collect them and use them like currency. It kinda reminds me of the gummy (goomie?) bracelets we used to wear in the late 80s.

      The weird thing is, when you wear them like a bracelet, you can’t see the very exciting shape; it’s only when you remove them that you can see the hockey stick or superhero or animal shape…

      Reply
  • 5. Jackie  |  September 21, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    I was just informed by my kids that I must buy them as well, “everyone is wearing them at school!!!”

    Well any product that has the name silly in it, just must be silly. Seems like a lot of cash just for rubber.

    Reply
  • 6. Tracey  |  September 22, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Yep-my daughters both got some as gifts when we lived in North Bay, ON. It’s everywhere! (see yahoo homepage today!) It totally reminded me of our goomie(sp?) bracelets in grade 6 ish…I don’t really “get” them either…but that’s what fads are often like, right?

    Reply
    • 7. fitforakid  |  September 22, 2010 at 11:56 pm

      Totally reminded me of goomies too…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


