The Origin of Life Amongst the Apple Trees

September 20, 2010 at 12:07 am 6 comments

I found it somewhat ironic that, on our way to the apple orchard for our annual apple-picking pilgrimage, my four-year old Lil D interrupted his own rendition of “Skip to my Lou” to ask what there was before The Big Bang. 

Derek and I looked at each other in the front seat, kinda laughed, and I began googling ferociously on my iPad.  You see, neither Derek and I are physics buffs.  In fact, though I am well-versed in anatomy and somewhat versed in physiology, I avoided physics like the plague.

I first chose a Wikipedia page to read to him.  I had to pause to explain a few words, but rather than become more confused, he started asking more poignant questions that we could not answer.  He wanted to know how scientists had developed this theory.  This forced me to explain the concept of evidence.

Derek quickly told me to turn on the voice recorder on his phone.  I didn’t get the best parts, but, I did get this:

Lil D:  “Before the Big Bang, nothing existed – the world didn’t exist.  The universe didn’t even exist.”

Me:  “That’s what the theory says.”

Lil D:  “But what was there?”

Me:  “Well…um… do you want me to… let me check on another webpage.”

I then read a paragraph from this page and came to the subheading “But What About God?” and read “Does God Exist?”. 

And Lil D blurted out, “of course God doesn’t really exist.  So what was there before The Big Bang?”

Silence from the front seat.

And I started googling the Origin of Life (because he had already explained the Origin of Species to me).

That’s where I found our apple orchard destination somewhat ironic, the Adam and Eve metaphor and all…

This child is intense.

Entry filed under: Parenting. Tags: , , .

Under the Influence Tuesday Morning with Nanny; I Laughed, I Cried

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brie  |  September 20, 2010 at 12:26 am

    I think you had better brace yourself for the birds and the bees conversation. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  September 20, 2010 at 1:15 pm

      Yes, my husband already deflected it once with egg, fertilized by sperm when “a man and a woman spend time together”. I wish I had been there.

      Reply
  • 3. Nellia  |  September 20, 2010 at 1:43 am

    Many take for granted the sheer generosity that is heaped upon mankind because of the continued action of the sun, the rain, and the fruitful seasons. For example, consider the apple. Throughout the temperate regions of the earth, it is a common fruit. Yet, it is beautiful, delicious to eat, and full of refreshing water and vital nutrients. Did you know that worldwide there are some 7,500 different varieties of apples, ranging in color from red to gold to yellow to green and in size from slightly larger than a cherry to the size of a grapefruit? If you hold a tiny apple seed in your hand, it looks insignificant. But from it grows one of the loveliest of trees. (Song of Solomon 2:3) Every spring the apple tree is crowned with a glorious halo of blossoms; every autumn it produces fruit. Each year—for up to 75 years—the average apple tree will yield enough fruit to fill 20 cartons to a weight of 42 pounds [19 kg] each!

    Reply
  • 4. Finola  |  September 21, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Actually I think the birds and the bees will be a snap after this one. Wow, great kiddo you have there 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. fitforakid  |  September 22, 2010 at 11:58 pm

      Yes, the birds and the bees will definitely be a snap. I’ve already begun preparing my answer. At least I know that one is coming…

      Reply
  • 6. Tracey  |  September 22, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Heavy talk for an apple orchard drive-and I agree about the apple/adam&eve timing/symbolism! Too funny! I love that you started researching on your ipad. LOL Sign of the times!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


