Easy, Nutritious, Kid-Approved Dinner

September 22, 2010 at 12:43 pm 3 comments

I have made this for dinner several times over the last couple of months.   To round out the meal, I serve cut up veggies for the kids and a salad for Derek and me.
Both boys enjoy this meal, and it is currently Lil D’s favourite.  I’m in a sharing mood today, so I thought I would share this nutritious, easy and delicious treat with y’all.
 
Here’s the recipe:
 
Creamy Lentil Casserole with Dried Apricots:
  
Makes 4 to 6 servings
 
1 tsp. olive oil
1.5 tsp curry OR child powder – I have successfully tried both
1 cup of brown rice OR millet – I use brown rice
1 cup of dried lentils – I once used a large can and it worked fine; I just added less water
4 cups of chicken broth OR water’ – I use water
salt and freshly ground pepper
1 cup of dried apricots
Plain low-fat yogurt OR sour cream (optional)
 
1.  Preheat over to 375 F
2.  Heat the oil in a 4-quart ovenproof pan or casserole over medium heat.  Add the curry (or chili) powder and brown rice (or millet) and saute, stirring occasionally, until the rice begins to smell toasty, about 1 minute.
3.  Add the lentils and broth.  Bring the liquid to a boil and season to taste with salt and pepper.  Cover and bake until the grain and lentils are almost completely tender, about 25 minutes.
4.  Meanwhile, cut the apricots into halves
5.  Stir the apricots into the casserole, cover, and bake until all the ingredients are cooked through and hot, about another 10 minutes.  Adjust the seasoning and serve with a dollop of yogurt if you like
Notes:  I have never added the yogurt; I pick the apricots out of the boys’ portions.
 
Enjoy!  I have found this recipe very forgiving.
Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Tuesday Morning with Nanny; I Laughed, I Cried Can You Imagine What You Would You Do?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  September 22, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    This sounds delicious! I am putting it on my to-try list. Although I have to admit, I am not that hopeful that the kids will eat it…but my husband and I will surely enjoy!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  September 22, 2010 at 11:54 pm

      You might be surprised about the kids. I don’t know if it was just a good day the first time I served it, but they both loved it. And now they request lentils in this dish and on their own… tonight we had plain lentils and mashed potatoes for one child and sweet potatoes for the other.

      Sometimes I think it’s just a matter of the stars aligning.

      Reply
  • 3. Inspired. « Fit for a kid  |  September 29, 2010 at 1:25 am

    […] back to quinoa:  I had already planned to make my favourite lentil and brown rice dinner.  The recipe calls for 1 cup of rice.  Since I only had 3/4 cup of brown rice left in the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


