Home-made Nut-Free Chewy Granola Bars

September 23, 2010 at 5:11 pm 2 comments

Lil D is my older child.  He enjoys granola bars in his lunch.  I do not like buying over-packaged, over-processed foods.   So, I found this amazing looking recipe on a local blog which is one of my regular reads. 

I adapted it to the ingredients in my home and tested it out.  I love it!  Lil C loves it.  Derek likes it.  But, Lil D won’t even try it.  I have tried several times with a few different sales pitches, but to no avail.  I think he must miss the colourful foil packaging.  Food marketers are evil geniuses.

I have not yet given up.  I will persevere and see if I can catch him at a particularly starving moment.

In the meantime, here is the recipe with my adaptations and the nutritional breakdown.

(original recipe from @missfish)

Chewy Dried Fruit and Seed Granola Bars

2 1/2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup ground flax
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
3/4 cup raisins                                                                                                                                                                                                             1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
3/4 teaspoon sea salt (I used coarse; next time I will use fine)
1/2 cup honey
2 egg whites, beaten
1/3 cup canola oil plus 1/4 cup applesauce
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees (I used 325 degrees convection). Grease 9 x 13 baking pan.

2. In large bowl, mix together the oats, brown sugar, wheat germ, flax, cinnamon, flour, raisins, seeds, and salt. Make a well in the centre, pour in the honey, egg, oil and applesauce, and vanilla. Mix well. Pat the mixture evenly into the pan.

3. Bake for about 30 minutes for chewy bars, a little longer for a crunchier bar. Cool for 5 minutes, then cut into 24 bars. Do not allow the bars to cool completely before cutting or they will be too hard to cut.

Makes 24 servings

Nutritional Information (per 1 bar serving)

I just kept track of the macros when I ran it through the program.

Calories 136

Total Fat 4.1 g (37 calories)

Total Carb 23.3 g

Protein 2.6g

Sodium 68 mg

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Can You Imagine What You Would You Do? Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  September 23, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    I make these often, too. I adore them! They’re perfect for my allergic-to-everything son who can’t have store bought.

    If I can keep my husband from sneaking them :).

    I make a batch every couple of weeks and cut them into small squares and freeze them. Then I pull out a square or two and pop them in their lunch (I usually defrost for about 15 seconds in the microwave first).

    In other news, been thinking a lot about your post from yesterday but I don’t know what to say about that. I can’t imagine ever leaving my kid, ever, but you can’t know what you’d do in the face of death. It’s so terribly sad.

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  September 24, 2010 at 4:04 pm

      Freezing them! Great idea. I will try that.

      As far as your comment no the other post, I agree – unthinkable and unimaginable…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


