The Last 10 Days in Baking

October 25, 2010 at 1:23 am Leave a comment

I had a busy week.  It flew by.  I don’t feel like I have all that much to show for it.  But somehow each day was packed from top to bottom.  I have several post topics floating around in my head, but as I run out of time, the topics end up running into each other and the product is something like what you might read below.

Between last Monday and today, I did a LOT of baking, and even some cooking.

A recap (with very few photos and links to the original recipes – as I find them, I will update this post):

Pumpkin Cookies with Cream Cheese Icing: The cookies were a big hit.  I made them for a family reunion of sorts and they were disappearing from the kitchen before they were even brought out to the dining room table.

As for my little family, Lil C preferred them iced, but also enjoyed them straight up.  Lil D did not like the icing but liked them on their own.  These were delicious with a cup of tea or coffee mid- afternoon.

I would and will make them again but will most certainly skip the icing.  These made a very large batch.  I baked half one day, refrigerating the rest and baking it two days later.

Coconut Oatmeal Cookies (with milk chocolate chips) – Yum yum yum.  This made a huge batch.  It was loved by all in the family and I had enough to pass on some to various extended family members.  I will make these again (and again).

Curried Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato Soup- An easy and forgiving recipe.  I have made it 3 times now.  The boys are not yet into it, but my big boy is and so are my mom and dad.

Here is the recipe as it was given to me:

Bake a butternut squash, two onions, three large carrots, and potatoes.  I used two sweet potatoes and added two parsnips.

In large pot, saute garlic, fresh ginger; then add curry powder and cumin.  Add stock or water; I used  about 6 cups of water.  Add a can of coconut milk –  I only used a half a can.
Add baked root veggies.
Boil, puree.  Feel free to add an apple.
Add salt, pepper to taste.

Banana Bread: This recipe had a wonderful texture though I found it much too sweet.  Next time I would reduce the sugar by at least half, and let the sweetness of the bananas speak for themselves.

Cinnamon Rolls: These were a huge stretch for me.  I have never baked with yeast before.  I couldn’t put all the butter in the filling; I think I used about half of what I melted.  I just couldn’t do it.  And I didn’t make the icing or coat them in sugar.  But the boys really enjoyed them and I ate too many (three in one sitting).  I have to make them again because I found them slightly tough…  I think it may be because I left them out overnight.

I prepared them the evening before left them on the counter covered by a tea towel.  Derek came home from a late evening basketball game and thought they were done.  He ate HALF A RAW cinnamon roll before he realized the were not cooked.  I didn’t believe him until I went downstairs the next morning to find the missing dough.

In the oven

Cooling; Not exactly uniform in size or shapte

Nanny M’s Famous Brownies (recipe below): These are a family favourite.  I remember my grandmother (dad’s mom) brought these to many family meals.  We always seemed to have a batch in our freezer.  I ate more than my share in long frozen rows (to keep the rectangle even so no one would know I had eaten some).

Tomorrow is Lil D’s birthday.  The kids at his school usually bring a treat for their classmates to celebrate.  I asked Lil D what flavour of cupcakes he would like.  He requested brownies instead.  So, for the first time in my own kitchen, I made Nanny M’s brownies.  It’s a shame I can’t include the walnuts from the original recipe, but such is life.  I wanted to add marshmallows or white chocolate chips to make them more interesting, but I was instructed by the birthday boy that they should be “plain brownies”.  I humoured myself by putting them in little decorated muffin cups to make them look festive.

Nanny M’s Brownies

¾ c flour

½ tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

1/3 c canola oil

2 oz unsweetened chocolate

1 c sugar

2 eggs

½ c chopped walnuts (I omitted these)

1 tsp vanilla

Cream eggs and sugar.  Add oil.  Add melted chocolate and vanilla.  Add dry ingredients and nuts.  Pour into greased 8” square pan.  Bake at 350 degreees for 25 minutes.

Note:  This recipe can be doubled or quadrupled easily, freezes well and can be made in a food processor.

And lastly, tomorrow morning’s oat pancake batter shall soon be prepared (by special request from the birthday boy).

With Halloween coming next weekend, I’m going to try to lay off the baking this week; Derek and/or I are sure to find ourselves asking to be rescued from a sea of empty mini chocolate bar wrappers at least once in the coming ten days.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Vegging A Place to Play

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


