Function and Flow

October 30, 2010 at 1:31 am 2 comments

The playroom and mudroom design project is now in full swing.  I have a stab wound between the third and fourth fingers of my left hand to prove it.

Before I start documenting my progress (which I am quite impressed with), I’d like to share the goals I have for the two spaces.  I shared these goals with Katharine from Housters & Co, and in the final design kit she presented these goals back to me as she understood them – here are some highlights.

The Playroom:  (approximately 13′ x 21′)

  • Create a cozy space suitable for young boys, but that could grow with them.
  • Maintain a calm, clutter-free feeling in keeping with the rest of the house; this essentially means planning and suggesting useful storage.
  • Create zones for different types of play and artwork.
  • Incorporate furniture in classic forms.
  • Incorporate the existing train table, play kitchen and lemonade stand/grocery stand.
  • Incorporate a modern colour scheme that is inviting to children without competing with the already (way too) colourful toys.
  • Determine a use for the 13’x~3′ ledge that runs across one end of the room due to our irregular sloped lot and resulting foundation.

Mudroom: (approximately 8′ x 15′)

  • Create a kid-friendly entrance that is still welcoming and sophisticated while accommodating considerable everyday traffic.
  • Provide a place to sit.
  • Incorporate a system that allows the kids to participate in keeping the space organized.
  • Display family photos.
  • Maintain existing grey and white colour scheme.

The plan I am following addresses all of the above goals.  So far, I am exceeding my expectations in terms of execution.  The mudroom should be complete by the end of next week; the chairs might hold this up, but I’ll have done all of my work.

In my last post on this project I explained that I love calling the Ikea assembly men… But, I am proud to say that I have put together some significant pieces this week, all on my own.  Now that I don’t work (yes mom, I mean “outside the home”), I feel like I have no excuse not to do these myself.  And frankly, it’s been kinda fun.

By the way, did I mention that my parents are now reading this?  They heard from one too many friends that I had a blog.  So they asked for the URL.  My mom told me not to censor myself.  I won’t.  But, if I say something you don’t like mom, you’re going to have to pretend you didn’t hear.  I think this will be a good exercise in self-restraint.

Now – photos – you will have progress photos very soon.

The painter comes Monday for the playroom, and the deliveries will continue throughout the weekend.

Yay for change, fun, and organization!

A note about budget: I did not specify a budget for this project.  I was given high and low options on many pieces and have mostly selected the low where I felt the piece still had the classic form I wanted.


Entry filed under: General Ramblings On. Tags: , , , , .

What’s in a Name? Like Mother, Like Son

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


