Mudroom and Playroom Project Update

November 5, 2010 at 4:25 pm 5 comments

In my last post on this project, I described the goals I had for the organization/decoration of two spaces on the lower level of our home, the mudroom (lower level entry) and the playroom.  I am happy to report that I have made significant progress on both rooms.  But first, a confession:

I called the I.A.M. (Ikea Assembly Man).  When I looked at the number and size of boxes that arrived for me, I realized that it would take me every night until Christmas to put the stuff together.  So, for the best $125 I ever spent, it was all put together in 2.5 hours.

Another note on my Ikea experience – I may not have revealed this one were it not for the fact that I ran into my friend/blog reader Julie as I walked through the doors of the store with a few huge boxes.  “You have to blog about this!”, she exclaimed.  So, here it is:

When ordering online, be sure to check your item quantities.  I was so eager to make my purchases, I order an extra 2 bookcase pieces – big pieces at that.  I had to load them into the car and take them back to the store myself.  I opted to not incur the online shopping return shipping fee.  Luckily I avoided straining any back muscles during the return process.  I’m thinking my Friday heavy weight workouts are making a difference.

But perhaps you’re waiting to hear about my progress.  Well, the mudroom is done.  Yes – DONE!  Everything went swimmingly.  Furniture was in stock at all the retailers.  Mark, the painter/handyman had a day open between jobs.  And I found a few items that were packed away from our old house, that worked perfectly with the plan that Katharine provided.

As my D.I.Y. Design Kit outlined, instead of using traditional mudroom furniture concepts like cubbies or lockers, we would select pieces that concealed the clutter – do you notice a pattern here?

Katharine was clear that the plan was a guide.  I followed most of it, but when I realized that the mirror she sourced was very similar to something we had, and that the lamps that she recommended were similar in scale to some we had in our old bedroom, I simply unpacked the boxes and was pleased as punch – (did I really just use that expression?) stoked that I could tell Derek I was actually being frugal.  Okay, not frugal, but not outrageous.

So, remember these before pics?

Okay, but not functional, and too cluttered

Well, now, the view from the wall you see when you walk in the door (note the helmet I need to return; I left it there for authenticity’s sake:

2 new chairs, a sideboard, some "old" accessories, and our beloved family photos

And here is the wall across from the mirror:

Hooks, shoe cabinets, a handy shelf, and the art/bulletin board given to us by my brother and his wife.

The system – which has been working like a charm all week:

The boys each have a shoe cabinet of their own; Derek and I each have two.  They come downstairs, find their shoes:

Lil D's shoe and boot cabinet

They then remove their coat from the hook:

Room for a couple of jackets each

And then grab their hat and mitts from the labeled container on the labeled shelf, strategically concealed behind the door:

Open the doors; hats and mitts in labeled bins

The guys love the “system” as we have all taken to calling it.  They have added their ideas too.  They have each claimed one of the two chairs as their own.  They selected them based on the proximity to their own shoe cabinet.

I love it when a plan comes together.

Oh, and I am writing the playroom update as you read this.

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On. Tags: , , , .

Like Mother, Like Son There Was Nowhere to Look – This Week with Nanny A

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tracey  |  November 5, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    I love it!!!! It looks great and I love the way things are “hidden” so even though it’s storing a lot, it still looks clean and uncluttered. WTG!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  November 6, 2010 at 2:12 pm

      Thanks Tracey! I’m happy with it.

      Reply
  • 3. Lynn  |  November 6, 2010 at 12:53 am

    That looks amazing! I can hardly believe it is the same space. it looks like something out of a magazine and seems so much bigger, too. Great job!

    Reply
    • 4. fitforakid  |  November 6, 2010 at 2:14 pm

      Lynn – Thanks! I actually think the before pictures made it look smaller than it is, not the other way around. When I show you the playroom, I’ll try to provide better before pics that show the scale of the room better. It’s that space that I’m really so excited about… but it’s a lot more work!

      Reply
  • 5. Finola  |  November 6, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    I have mudroom envy now – LOVE!
    We have some of those shoe cupboards from IKEA and they’re so useful. We use one of them to store hats and mitts in winter – each kid has their own “drawer”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


