Leftover Halloween Chocolate – Baked into Squares

November 12, 2010 at 1:05 am 3 comments

“Is the idea to make something more tantalizing so that we eat it faster?”, asked Derek as I was making these squares.

I saw this recipe on one of my favourite baking blogs and decided that I’d rather get rid of all the mini chocolate bars in one fell swoop, then have them call my name multiple times a day from their hiding place way at the back of the highest deepest cabinet in our kitchen.

Here they are fresh out of the oven

Here they are ready to eat

The verdict:  Just so-so.  Too sweet even for my sweet tooth.  Perhaps a gooier or nuttier chocolate bar selection might have been better, like Oh Henry or Wunderbar, but of course I only had the nut-free kind…

This recipe made a HUGE pan of squares so about 3/4 of them are wrapped up tight in our basement freezer.

Will I make them again?  No.

Will I serve the rest that are packed up in my freezer?  Yes.  They would be good as part of sweet tray with some less sweet options. Or will do in a pinch when a chocolate craving is just unbearable.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , .

Wordless Wednesday: The Sweetest Jam (Session) Finding my Voice

3 Comments Add your own

  • […] I like to do and start with dessert. If you’ve been reading for awhile, you might remember this recipe that incorporated leftover Halloween treats. Well, for me the purpose of this recipe is the same. Get that sweet Mini Egg crack (anyone see the […]

    Reply
  • 2. Gertrude  |  July 16, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    s better to use whole foods made from scratch for good health.

    Avocados- Although not my favorite, are high in fats, the good ones.
    Expect to lose all that extra flabbiness as you melt off all your unwanted fat.

    Reply
  • If you find it a bit maddening to follow the daily fluctuations of the scale
    even though you are eating properly, pick three days of the
    week on which you will always weigh yourself (for example, Monday, Wednesday,
    and Friday). Anyone who dares to make a closer inspection will
    find the underlying difference. The institution has persistently offered ideal programs and services
    for those struggling to achieve certain levels
    of body weight.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


