Playroom Design – Project Update

November 16, 2010 at 3:26 pm 2 comments

I am done my part.

I am simply waiting for the final element – some upholstered cushions and pillows.

I will wait till I get that last piece for the REVEAL with details on suppliers etc.

But until then, I will give you a little taste of some of the fun elements in our newly designed room, which you may be interested to know, is getting RAVE reviews from its intended end-users.

Stuff we already had; grocery store, kitchen, train table, bookshelf and lots and lots of trucks. Those photos on the wall are the beginning of the family sports wall of fame. It currently includes Grandpa skiing and Derek in The Ottawa Citizen circa 1991 stealing the rebound from a 6'8" opponent.

Magnetic boards for artwork display, low table, storage WITH DOORS for hiding toys, and Monsieur Le Tigre

More enclosed storage

Craft/art/work desk under natural light with lots of fun storage for supplies and seating for two; can you see the very cool blue hue on the accent wall?

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On. Tags: , , .

Finding my Voice Food Blog Fascination

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  November 18, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I am LOVING this. Can’t wait for the full details. I think I may copy this exact design. How big is your space? Our playroom is 10×10 and it feels so cramped all the time. Your area seems so spacious.

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  November 18, 2010 at 4:20 pm

      Lynn – It’s about 21 x 13, so it is significantly bigger. However, I do think you can take a lot of elements from this space and use them in a smaller space to make it feel more functional. 3 x 13 of our space is the stage/reading area… you could omit that. I highly recommend the big desk, the coffee table, enclosed storage and a bit of open shelving in which you can rotate toys.

      Also, the chalkboard wall is a huge huge hit!

      I will scan the floor plan into the final post so you can modify. Plot it out for sure before you do it, but I think a lot could work in your space.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


