Food Blog Fascination

November 17, 2010 at 2:25 am 5 comments

I am fascinated with healthy foodie and fitness blogs, the kind where the blogger posts photos and descriptions of their daily consumption, often their physical activity and usually random details about their day.

Occasionally it’s interesting. Most of the time it’s mundane. But I can’t seem to look away.

These bloggers go about each and every day snapping photos of everything they consume.  Perhaps it helps keep them accountable for their food and activity choices.

Most are very good photographers; even their morning oatmeal looks like a work of art.  I’ve noticed that almost all of them have oatmeal for breakfast.  I love oatmeal.  If I was to be left stranded on a desert island with only one food, it would be oatmeal (hopefully topped with Sun-Maid or Dole Thompson raisins – no other brand will do).

I can barely operate my Cannon Powershot, but today I attempted a day in the life of a healthy food/fitness blogger.

I started my day with breakfast, eaten standing up as I served the little people in my family

Leftover brown rice topped with non-fat Greek Yogurt, pumpkin seeds, raisins and a dusting of cinnamon. Accompanying Nespresso-made coffee is not pictured.

Got the boys to school and tackled some bill paying.  For those of you to whom I owe money, the cheque is now in the mail.

Time for my morning snack:

Agua in my favourite water bottle; I know it's plastic but it's so nice to drink from

A heaping teaspoon of sunflower seed butter and a Diet Dr. Pepper - diet drinks are my vice

And then, a few minutes later:

Raw broccoli, a couple of baby carrots and 2 tablespoons of light veggie dip

Since I no longer work outside our home, on workout days, I dress in my workout gear first thing and change into street clothes only after my (usually) noontime workout.  But November is cold.  And most of my workout tights are capris.  Luckily I found these on sale

Legwarmers! And with the heels cut out. All you former dancers will remember how, to the chagrin of our parents, we would rip our brand new legwarmers so they would fit perfectly over our dance shoes

My leg muscles are warm and ready to head out the door

To get here for a quick and efficient workout

The workout studio is actually there; you just have to get past the coffee/shake bar

And then home for lunch

Sunday evenings leftovers turned into a Southwestern Bowl: Black beans, peppers and onions, crumbled light feta and a sixth of an avocado

During lunch, Derek and I debated whether during a static squat drill, shifting your weight from leg to leg when they start shaking is considered cheating.  I think it is.  He doesn’t.  Any thoughts on this?

Did some quick baking from a mix for the boys’ after school snack.  I can’t seem to replicate these from scratch and they love them…  These did not tempt me in the least

On my way to pick up the kids

It's 3:30 pm so a small, black coffee will do

Less than 30 minutes in the kitchen and dinner is served

Reduced fat macaroni and cheese.

He liked it!

And there's my empty bowl!

7:15 pm Kids were pooped.  Now they’re tucked in.  Time for my night snack.

An ounce of raisins with a tablespoon of pumpkin seeds

And now, as I type this, I am enjoying my end of day hot water with lemon.

Ahhh!  A lovely, busy, fulfilling day.  Will I do this photo journaling again?  Not for a long while.

Do you read these types of  blogs? If so, which are your favourites?  Those that show up most frequently in my Reader are:  Kath Eats Real Food, JAG’s Fitness Blog, Meals and Miles, Chocolate-Covered Katie, Skinny Runner, Oh She Glows, and Melissa’s Journey… among others.

Entry filed under: Fitness, General Ramblings On, nutrition. Tags: , , , , .

Playroom Design – Project Update A Couple of New Recipes: Mac and Cheese and Yummy Cookies

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa Stevens  |  November 17, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    Did you make the mac and cheese from scratch? It looks yummy. Can I have the recipe?

    PS What a healthy eating day! All those seeds would kill my stomach though!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  November 18, 2010 at 1:05 am

      Hey Lisa,

      i’ll post the recipe on the blog later this evening. And I had to eat healthy if I was going to post it! Just kidding… I’ve been eating this way for awhile now, aside from the odd binge on baked goods.

      Reply
      • 3. fitforakid  |  November 18, 2010 at 4:21 pm

        Nothing has come to me yet… so until then, I’m still Fit for a Kid. But I am still thinking.

  • […] enjoyed this very creamy reduced-fat macaroni and cheese which I included in yesterday’s pictorial diary. Reduced fat macaroni and […]

    Reply
  • 5. Stefania (Ingredients for Life)  |  November 18, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    I enjoyed this post. I love reading and seeing how people live.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


