It’s That (sniff) Time of (cough) Year (wheeze) Again

November 25, 2010 at 2:02 pm 4 comments

I just checked the stats on my blog and noticed an increase in the immunization-related search terms that bring people here.  I also noticed that the post I wrote about reducing pain in childhood immunization has gotten a lot of play lately.   And that reminded me (a little late), it’s inFLUenza season again!

Time to get immunized.  I actually got my shot at a doctor’s visit in late October.  But the kids – the kids!  I must get them there.  Luckily, Friday is a PD Day.  Oh what fun we will have getting passport photos and influenza immunizations.

Finola wrote about her husband’s bout with influenza earlier this month.  It’s not fun.  And it’s even worse for children and the elderly, populations that figure prominently in my current day-to-day life.

I’m not willing to risk it.

So consider this a public service announcement.  Get immunized.

For information on immunization in your area of Canada, go to Immunize.Ca.

In the US, try the CDC‘s info on influenza.

Have you had your flu shot yet this year?  Did the lack of hype compared to last year’s media frenzy surrounding H1N1 influenza make you feel like you don’t need to get immunized, or like me, almost forget about it?

Entry filed under: Parenting, Vaccines. Tags: , , , .

Another Visit with Nanny A: Kinda a Downer This Week New Fitness Goal: 10-Year Anniversary Half-Marathon

4 Comments Add your own

  • […] Leer completo en: It’s That (sniff) Time of (cough) Year (wheeze) Again […]

    Reply
  • 2. coffee with julie  |  November 25, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Flu shots are something I have just never gotten around to. Even though, in theory, I was going to get one during the H1N1 scare, I didn’t make it!

    Do you ever get the flu … even though you regularly get flu shots?

    Reply
    • 3. fitforakid  |  November 26, 2010 at 1:28 am

      Hi Julie – I have been getting flu shots regularly since I worked in a hospital – so that goes back about 7 years. Since then, I have not had the flu. I still get bad colds, but not influenza (knocking on wood as I write this).

      Right now though, it’s not only about me (for once!). I don’t want to carry the virus from my kids to my grandmothers, or even my parents (who I forget sometimes) are now in the higher-risk age group.

      I totally get the “not getting around to it”. It’s such a pain – literally.

      Reply
  • 4. Finola  |  November 26, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Hey, thanks for linking to me. I should do a wrap-up post about Tony’s flu. As you know, it’s not just like having a bad cold, or a few days of discomfort. He was really really sick for a full three weeks, and then the coughing continued for a couple of more weeks after that.
    Thanks for reminding me – I must stop procrastinating and get the rest of us to our flu shots!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


