New Fitness Goal: 10-Year Anniversary Half-Marathon

December 1, 2010 at 3:09 pm 7 comments

Woohoo – I’m so excited.  I have made the decision.  I will be running a half marathon in the first half of 2011.  I have contemplating this for the last year as you can read about here and I’ve been testing my running legs out.  The verdict is in.  They are ready.

I am looking at the Nashville Country Music Half-Marathon on April 30, 2011.  That particular race is not set in stone.  I really want to participate in this race with my friend Jessica.  We ran the Rock’n’Roll Marathon in San Diego in 2000.   During that run, we promised each other we would run a marathon together every 10 years. 

Well, 11 years and 2 children later, I’m thinking that the time commitment involved in training for a full marathon is not fair to my cute husband.  So, a half it is. 

And since it’s a half, I am going to give myself some goals:

1.  Run pain and injury free.

2.  Run to reach a time goal.

In 2001, I ran the Ottawa full marathon in 4:01.  So, I extrapolate that with about 10 pounds less fat and 5 pounds more muscle, and 10 more years, I should be able to run a half in – wait for it…

1 hour and 55 minutes.  My trainer says that I should be looking for 1:51, but I’m not that optimistic.  Any runners wanna weigh in on this? 

Oooh – and I am also going to register early for the Ottawa Race Weekend Half-Marathon.  Anyone care to join me?

Entry filed under: Fitness. Tags: , , , , , .

It’s That (sniff) Time of (cough) Year (wheeze) Again Tradition

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tish  |  December 1, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Go Liisa Go!

    Reply
  • 2. Moffman  |  December 1, 2010 at 7:33 pm

    Good for you! I think your goal time is reasonable, but figure that you’ll probably beat it handily if you train well.
    I would also love to run on Ottawa Race Weekend, but it looks like I’ll be away on business.
    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 3. Finola  |  December 2, 2010 at 1:01 am

    I’m doing the Ottawa race weekend half too – but I will be eating your dust!

    Reply
  • 4. Mindy  |  December 2, 2010 at 6:54 am

    You should come to Toronto and run the Toronto Women’s Half in May. It’s a fun race – firefighters at water stations, chocolate, and it is a fundraiser for the Pediatric Oncology GRoup of Ontario. I ran it two years ago and it was fun. Missed it last year due to the whole pregnancy thing but I’ll be running it again this year.

    Reply
  • 5. Julie Drury  |  December 5, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    I’m doing race weekend. It will be 6 weeks after Boston, so I am hoping to PB.
    I feel your ain about the winter running. Keep blogging about it. We can whine about it together.

    Reply
    • 6. fitforakid  |  December 5, 2010 at 8:59 pm

      Hey Julie, thanks for the comment. Do u know of anyone who blogs about running and race reviews in the Ottawa area? Looking for info…

      Reply
  • 7. ottawayenta  |  December 12, 2010 at 1:35 am

    David signed up for the Ottawa half-marathon too. It will be his first. Me, I stick to 5km for now, and I am one of those fair weather runners, I have to figure out how to do stuff during the winter to keep it up (treadmill gets boring quickly). Jackie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


