Festive Magic Bars

December 24, 2010 at 2:34 am 2 comments

Today my boys had two adorable little classmates over for a playdate.  They have a two-week old baby brother.  So they came to play for a few hours today.

First they played hockey in the driveway – well three of them did while the littlest one played in the playroom.  I sat just inside the door on a comfy chair where I could watch the guys inside and outside.

When hockey was over, they all played in the playroom while I made lunch:  Grilled cheeses, sweet potato fries (the kind that are fresh and pre-cut in the lettuce section), raw carrots and cauliflower.

sandwich was larger before it was half eaten

Then, my husband opened a gift from a vendor, tearing the envelope and sending the messy padding bits everywhere.

I dustbusted him- not a euphemism. You can't see his face or gesturing hands. He was not impressed that I chose that moment to take his picture.

He received a cashmere scarf – different from that company’s typical gift basket.  It is actually nice, useful, and he will wear it.  But I think they were taking a risk giving such a personal gift.  Any thoughts?

After lunch, we turned on Rudolph on the big screen for some downtime.  The littlest boy wasn’t that interested so he came upstairs.  I read him a story about cookies (translated from French page by page), and then we baked together.

I read about vegan Magic Bars on another blog this morning.  I am no vegan so I decided to go for the real thing – sans nuts.

But without nuts, I thought they would really be missing something.

Then the candy canes on the counter caught my eye.

And this is what happened:

Festive Magic Bars

Prep time: 7 minutes (10 with a 3 year-old helper)

22 graham crackers to make 1 1/2 c graham cracker crumbs (I used low fat)

1/2 c butter

1 can sweetened condensed milk (I used low-fat; I seem to have the low-fat version of products in my pantry.  Must be a vestige of late 80s and 90s dieting)

1 c white chocolate chips

1 c semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 c shredded coconut, unsweetened

10 mini candy canes, crushed (or blended for 5 seconds)

  1. Preheat oven to 350°, (325° for glass dish).
  2. Line a 13×9-inch baking pan with a sheet of foil, making sure to cover the sides well.
  3. Place the butter in the baking pan and melt it in the oven.
  4. Sprinkle crumbs over butter
  5. Pour condensed milk evenly on top of crumbs.
  6. Top with remaining ingredients in order listed
  7. Bake 25 minutes or until lightly browned. (I baked for 35 minutes).
  8. Cool. Chill if desired. Cut into bars.
  9. Store covered at room temperature.  (I am storing mine in the fridge as they are too gooey for my liking at room temp)

Makes a 9 x 13 pan; the size and therefore quantity of the bars yielded is up to you!

Warning:  I ate about half the pan.  Remember when I said I eat well aside from the occasional binge on baked goods?  Today was one of those days.  And it was delicious.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on personal gifts from vendors or clients.  Any strange ones?  PLUS, do you have a favourite binge-worthy treat?

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Would You Serve These to Your Children for Breakfast? Saturday Dec 25 2010 – In Pictures

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  December 24, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    I tell you, these bars are looking pretty binge-worthy. We are supposed to bake cookies for Santa today but these bars are calling!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  December 24, 2010 at 4:51 pm

      I think that Santa would love these! I did. They are gone…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


