Breakfast in a Jar

January 4, 2011 at 5:01 am 7 comments

There used to be a restaurant on Queen Street West in Toronto that specialized in wraps.  I don’t think it’s there anymore.  I had a simple and very memorable meal there.  It was sweet, salty, nutty, creamy and provided me with a ton of fuel for an afternoon of shopping.

It was an ooey gooey peanut butter, honey and banana wrap.  It was about 12 years ago and I still remember it vividly.

I have read on several “healthy living” blogs about overnight oats.  As I’ve mentioned before, oats are my most favourite food.

If you’ve ever had muesli, you will recognize overnight oats as essentially the same thing.

I’ve seen these overnight oats made in the remnants of a nut butter jar so that all the leftover gooey nut butter gets absorbed into the oats.

I decided to give it a try, and I thought I would try to get that peanut butter and banana flavour I love into the oats.

So I give you, Sunflower Seed Butter and Banana Overnight Oats in a Jar

Makes a single serving

The main ingredients

A very ripe banana - not so pretty

A perfect container

Put the top back on the jar

And put it back in the fridge until morning

The Recipe

Ingredients:

1/3 c uncooked raw rolled oats

1/3 c plain yogurt (I used non-fat – more protein)

1/3 c nonfat milk

1/2 banana

remainder of sunflower seed butter jar (I’m generously guessing 2 tbsp)

Directions:

Before hitting the hay the night before, slice half a banana.  Measure and mix the first 3 ingredients.  Add the banana slices and, if you don’t have an almost empty jar of sunflower seed (or any nut) butter, add it here too.

Combine and refrigerate overnight.

Enjoy a fast and nutritious breakfast in the morning.  Feel free to add toppings of your choice.

I may add a drizzle of honey though the banana was very ripe so I think it may be too sweet with the honey.

Nutrition Facts

Per serving as written above

405 calories

19 grams protein

18 g fat (4 g saturated fat)

6 g fiber

48 g carbohydrates

Good source of calcium!

Try it and let me know how you like it.  I’m gonna try a more traditional muesli with apples and raisins next.

Entry filed under: nutrition, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

More Fun Really (really) Light and Healthy Nachos

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mymealstoday  |  January 4, 2011 at 5:09 am

    Are the oats cooked by the yogurt or is it still essentially raw in the morning>

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  January 4, 2011 at 5:17 am

      Thanks for your comment. I checked out your blog.

      The oats absorb the yogurt and milk and so have the same texture as they have when they are cooked, though there is of course no heat.

      Does that make sense?

      Reply
      • 3. mymealstoday  |  January 4, 2011 at 5:50 am

        Yes. I’ll try it out to see if I like it. I’m always up for a recipe that prepares itself.

  • 4. coffee with julie  |  January 6, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Huh … never heard of this, but it sounds fantastic! I’m going to try it but with one of my empty almond butter jars. Thanks for the idea!

    Reply
    • 5. fitforakid  |  January 8, 2011 at 4:00 am

      Let me know how you like the oats Julie…

      Reply
  • […] “to donate” pile. I put out my shoes, charged my iPod and Garmin, made my variation of overnight oats (which has become my regular pre-run breakfast), made my natural sports drink, and put out my […]

    Reply
  • 7. Half-Marathon Race Day Preparations « Fit for a kid  |  May 28, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    […] sports drink and pre-race breakfast. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


