Fitness Friday: A Regular Feature

January 7, 2011 at 5:13 am 9 comments

In an attempt to organize myself, I’m going to introduce some regular features to Fit for a Kid.  The first will be Fitness Friday.  On Fridays I will write about something related to fitness –  family fitness, my personal fitness or specifically kid-fitness.   I will also recap my week’s workouts and discuss my fitness highs and lows.  If you love fitness, look forward to these posts.  If you prefer your couch or really don’t care about someone else’s attempts to sweat, then you’ll know that Friday’s posts are not for you.

I have set some specific fitness goals for 2011.  You can read about them here.

In today’s post, I would like to tell you about a long lost love with whom I have reconnected.  A bit about our relationship:

He makes me feel great after we spend time together, though often I feel guilty when he takes me away from my family.

He is a relatively cheap date, though I do enjoy buying new outfits for our meetings.

He loves upbeat music and often has me dancing in strange places.  This sometimes makes others stare as we go by.

Usually, I admire the outdoors through the window in the winter, but he seems to woo me out of doors.

My eyelashes were frozen in this short-lived blizzard

We never fight and I smile a lot when we’re together, though our time together is far from perfect.

Most importantly, I don’t have to hide our relationship from my husband.

After 10 years apart, Running and I are back together and more in love than ever.

My first running goal in 2011 is an April Half-Marathon, though I would like to run a local 10k leading up to it. I have also registered for the Ottawa Race Weekend Half Marathon.

I have yet to formally begin a training plan, but I will within the next 2 weeks.  I am also considering joining a group run on Saturday’s that runs out of a local yoga/running studio.

In the meantime,I have had more running workouts than usual over the last 10 days because my workout studio has had a lot of holiday closures and I have been travelling.  Here’s what I’ve done:

Christmas Day – Outside: 65 minutes – comfortable pace (which these days is about 7 miles per hour after the first 5 slow minutes)

Monday Dec 27 – Treadmill: 5 miles – 10 minute warmup and then 400 km intervals alternating 8.0 miles and 7.0 miles.

Wed Dec 29 – Outside: 40 minutes – 5 min warmup then tempo run at slightly faster than comfortable pace

Thurs Dec 30 – Outside:  35 minutes – easy run before heading to the airport

Friday Dec 31 – Treadmill: 3.0 miles – 28 minutes – easy run with a very slow start – legs were tired.

Saturday Jan 1 – Treadmill: 8.0 miles – average of 7.0 mph pace – felt great!

Monday Jan 3 – Outside: 31 minutes – got a stitch!  Walked for a couple of minutes and it went away.

Wed Jan 5 – Treadmill: 5 miles – Warm-up 10 minutes at 7.0 mph – 1 minute fast (7.5-8.5 mph): 2 minutes slow (7.0 mph)

Now I’ll be back to running 3 times per week.  Typically Monday, Wednesday and Saturday.

Who else has their sights set on a spring race?  How is your training going?  Are you struggling or loving it? I think my music really helps keep me energized.  Does anyone have any recommendations for my playlist?  Dance music seems to be my preference these days.  Club Can’t Handle Me by Flo-Ri-Da is the song that always makes me run my fastest.

Entry filed under: Fitness. Tags: , , , , , , .

Muffin Top Reading Challenge

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Donna Davis  |  January 7, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Hey great blog post! I noticed you may join our Elation Run Club on Saturdays – that’s fantastic. You will love it, if you’re looking for motivation our little group (which is growing quickly) is the place to be.
    Please email me if you have questions.
    Great webstite, thanks!

    Donna Davis

    Reply
  • 2. Liisa  |  January 8, 2011 at 3:55 am

    Hi Donna, thanks for the comment. I’m looking forward to coming out beginning in a few weeks!

    Reply
  • […] week I introduced Fitness Friday to Fit for a Kid.  This week I am starting Style Tuesday as a regular feature.   On Tuesdays, I […]

    Reply
  • 4. Alicia  |  January 12, 2011 at 1:45 am

    Firework – Katy Pary…might help pump you up 🙂 Looking forward to your Friday posts 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. fitforakid  |  January 13, 2011 at 3:25 am

      Yes! Katy is upbeat and I don’t have any of her songs on my current playlist. Thanks for the suggestion.

      Reply
  • 6. Jenn Beyak  |  January 12, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Liisa,
    If you’re looking for some 10km runs in Ottawa leading up to your April half-marathon, there is the Winterman on Feb. 20th and the Physio Run on April 17th. I haven’t seen anything for March.
    Looking forward to my first half in May!

    Reply
    • 7. fitforakid  |  January 13, 2011 at 3:24 am

      Thanks Jenn. The Winterman is on my radar and someone told me about a St. Patrick’s day run too, but I don’t have the details yet.

      Reply
  • 8. Jenn Beyak  |  January 13, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    The St. Patty’s Day run is on March 12th, 5 and 10 km.

    Reply
    • 9. fitforakid  |  January 13, 2011 at 4:04 pm

      Thanks Jenn. Wanna enter with me?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


