Reading Challenge

January 10, 2011 at 7:29 am 3 comments

I like to keep track of things.  I journal my food.  I am now tracking my workouts. And now I have something new to record, analyze and dissect – my reading.

In an attempt to watch less bad TV, I’m challenging myself to read more in 2011.  In 2010 I read about two books a month.  In 2011, I’d like to push the average up to about three books a month.

To motivate myself, I’ve joined this challenge hosted by The Book Vixen:

There are several levels at which you can participate in the challenge.

Levels:

Getting my heart rate up – Read 1–5 more books
Out of breath – Read 6–10 more books
Breaking a sweat – Read 11–15 more books
I’m on fire! – Read 16+ more books

I’m going for the “Out of breath” category though “Breaking a sweat” is my real target.

I’m already into these three books in 2011.  You can see my list as it progresses here.

I’ve heard so much in the media these last ten days about people wanting to “get fit” and lose weight.  Does anyone have any other interesting personal challenges for 2011 (not that I’m saying reading is so interesting – just looking for other ideas and experiences).

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On. Tags: , , , , .

Fitness Friday: A Regular Feature Style Tuesday: Another Regular Feature – Playroom Final Photos

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  January 10, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    I’ve tried to comment on this post at least five times now, and each time I just delete what I wrote as being dumb. I think I need to give my goals for 2011 a good once-over and figure out what it is I really do want to do this year!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  January 11, 2011 at 8:38 pm

      Lynn, you thought your ideas were “dumb” because reading a book more a month is so earth-shattering and life-changing?

      Tracey, you are a reading machine!

      Reply
  • 3. Tracey  |  January 10, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    I love that you’re a list maker. I am as well. I’m also an avid reader. When I’m on a roll, I read a book a day to day and a half. I take breaks where I just read magazines though. LOL
    Other challenges. Hmm.
    What about something altruistic? Planning some way each month to “give back” to others in big and small ways? Trying something new that terrifies you every month?
    I liked the Secret Daughter. You’ll have to let me know how you find the Friday Night Knitting Club. I’ve also heard great things about The Room.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


