Style Tuesday: Another Regular Feature – Playroom Final Photos

January 11, 2011 at 8:28 pm 8 comments

I wish I were a better photographer, but not enough to really do anything about it.

Last week I introduced Fitness Friday to Fit for a Kid.  This week I am starting Style Tuesday as a regular feature.   On Tuesdays, I will write about absolutely anything, I consider to be related to style.  It could be about fashion, design, entertaining, or something else I deem style-related on that day.

Style is very subjective and personal.   I will be sharing my preferences and opinions.   As always, I would love to hear yours.

The First Style Tuesday Blog Post:

Back in October, I told you about my plans to organize and decorate a playroom for the boys.

I was waiting for one of the final elements before I posted photos.  Well, just after Christmas, I received the upholstered cushions and pillow and I’m ready for the reveal.

I am happy to share my sources/suppliers with you if you are interested.  Just leave a comment or even send me a message.

In advance, I apologize for the quality of the photographs.  Please use your imagination where required.

The first view is from the doorway.  You will note the large pretend play toys in the middle of the room.  Those are used often, though I imagine they are only there for another year or two.  They include a train table, a kitchen and a grocery/lemonade stand.  Behind them we store many trucks and cars along with musical instruments.  Hidden from view by the kitchen are hooks on the wall for costumes and many hats.

View from the door; still looks cluttered to me but it is a playroom so I'll get over it

Dresser for storage of small toys

Moving around the room clockwise:

A little rack to store chalk; an adjustable lamp and some cozy pillows to snuggle up against or use to build a fort

The chalkboard wall:  This raised area can serve as a stage for rock’n’roll performances, a cozy place to read, or a just a place to draw.  If it was my 8-year-old self, it would have made a great place to “play school”.

Transformed this area using chalkboard paint and some sturdy upholstered cushions.

View from the door; still looks cluttered to me but it is a playroom so I'll get over it

Book shelf, puzzle shelf and container for play mats

Under the window taking advantage of natural light during the day:

A place for crafts and later, a place for homework and projects

On the next wall:

Enclosed storage - my favourite!

And finally:

Some art display space, a low table for games and puzzles and some adult seating. We used the modern classic Bertoia chair so that they would grow with the space.

There you have it.  I don’t want to bore you with details, but happy to share them.

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Parenting, Style. Tags: , , , , , .

Reading Challenge A New Kitchen Tool – The Digital Food Scale

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. molly  |  January 11, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    LOVE it! You did a great job. Cluttered, yes…but I’ve learned to get over it, too. Such is like with 2 kids.

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  January 13, 2011 at 3:28 am

      Thanks Molly. i know, I have to get over the clutter.

      Reply
  • 3. Alicia  |  January 12, 2011 at 1:40 am

    Wow, that looks awesome! I can’t wait to have the space someday to give my son a play room! I love your pop art poster on the dresser…where did you get it done?

    Reply
    • 4. fitforakid  |  January 13, 2011 at 3:27 am

      Alicia, the pop art poster is from allpopart.com and it is over 2 years old. Since then, there have been several Canadian companies that have sprouted up doing the same thing a little more affordably (though for some reason, i never like their final product as much).

      Reply
  • 5. Jenn Beyak  |  January 12, 2011 at 1:43 am

    Awesome job! Love the space, especially the seating area under the chalkboard and the little desks under the window.

    Reply
  • 6. Lynn  |  January 12, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    I’m totally envious of your playroom…it looks amazing. I’ll be using it as a model once we finish our basement. In the meantime I am going to try to find a corner for a desk like the one you have used – it’s my favourite part, and I just love the little bins along the wall to hold pencils/scissors/stickers/whatever. All from IKEA, I assume?

    Reply
    • 7. fitforakid  |  January 13, 2011 at 3:23 am

      Thanks Lynn – Yes, everything for the desk area is Ikea including the desk.

      Reply
  • 8. toy-plaza  |  January 14, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Looking forward to reading more. Great post. Cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


