A New Kitchen Tool – The Digital Food Scale

January 13, 2011 at 3:58 am 3 comments

I purchased this tool for baking.  A recipe I was itching to try only gave ingredient quantities in weight.  I have read that flour, sugar, dried fruit measures are more accurate with weight than with volume measures.  So, I bought a scale.

I went to my local kitchen store and bought the one that looked like it would give me the most bang for my buck.

Salter digital kitchen scale

This is the one I got

It’s a Salter scale that goes back and forth between ounces and grams.  It shuts off automatically.  You can weigh food right on the scale, or you can calibrate to zero with your own container/bowl.

Like this:

If you’re interested in the details, you can find them here.

In the meantime, I would like to share a revelation with you:  I sometimes don’t know how much I’m eating.

Now that the scale has a home near my countertop, I have been occasionally weighing foods to see if I am eating what I think I am.

I’m not.  I’m sometimes eating more and sometimes eating less.  This is not surprising if you think of cutting a piece of cheese off a brick or measuring out three ounces of fish.

What’s more interesting to me is that the nutrition facts as labeled on foods do not always accurately measure serving size quantity.

That sounds confusing.  Here’s what I mean:

One package of dinner rolls gave a serving size of “one roll or 48 g”.  But the roll only weighed 30 g.  So I would have eaten less nutrients than I thought.  The same thing occurred with my protein powder which said “one scoop or 30 g” but the scoop only weighed 13 g.  Again, I thought I was consuming more protein that I actually was (and have been all along).

I’m not suggesting I’m going to live and die by that food scale.  I just think it’s an interesting exercise to perform now and again to keep a clear picture.

And my baking can only get better from here.

Do you use a food scale for baking?  Does it make a difference?  Do you ever weigh your food to see how much you’re eating (even if you’re not trying to lose weight)?  Or am I crazy?  Mom – no comment from you, thanks.

Entry filed under: nutrition, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Style Tuesday: Another Regular Feature – Playroom Final Photos Sunflower Seed Butter Chocolate Chip Bites

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mounds and Almond Joy – Redesigned « Fit for a kid  |  January 17, 2011 at 8:09 am

    […] week I told you about my new favourite tool, my kitchen scale, and I explained that the impetus for the purchase of said scale was a particular recipe.  Today, […]

    Reply
  • 2. Rikki R. Dilday  |  September 26, 2014 at 11:36 pm

    Hi, this weekend is nice in favor of me, for the reason that this occasion i am reading this fantastic informative
    article here at my residence.

    Reply
  • 3. Aundrea C. Wilmot  |  October 9, 2014 at 8:12 am

    Every weekend i used to go to see this web site,
    for the reason that i want enjoyment, since this this web page conations genuinely good funny material too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


