Mounds and Almond Joy – Redesigned

January 17, 2011 at 7:54 am Leave a comment

Last week I told you about my new favourite tool, my kitchen scale, and I explained that the impetus for the purchase of said scale was a particular recipe.  Today, I will share this yummy, ooey-gooey, sweet treat with you.

But first, a story:

Between March and June of 1989, on a student exchange, I lived with a lovely family in a small town (pop. 10,000) in the Alsace region of France.  I was 15 years old and had not yet fully realized that I could not eat everything in sight without gaining weight.

I give you a sample daily food diary (as remembered >20 years later):

Breakfast: 4 to 5 rounds of fresh baguette smothered in butter and jam or Nutella

Morning Snack: Petit pain au chocolat (like a chocolate croissant) sold fresh in the school hallway at 10 am

Lunch with the family: Rice and sautéed onions, some sort of chicken or cold cuts, lots of veg.  Fruit and cheese for dessert (sometimes with more baguette)

After School Snack: Mounds candy bar purchased at the corner store eaten on the walk home.  Baguette and jam or Nutella at home.

Dinner: Cold cuts and potatoes and salad.  Fruit and cheese for dessert.  Occasionally cake or pastry.

Well, as you can imagine, I gained somewhere between 10 and 15 pounds during that 3 month period.  When my parents met me in Lyon for a long weekend, they almost walked right by me because of the weight gain.  My dad still brings this up, as I think it was quite traumatic for him.

I came home and that summer I began what would be the first of many 15-20 pound loss and gain cycles which finally stopped (at the low end thankfully) about 12 years ago.

Today, when I see the blue and white of the Mounds Bar wrapper, I think of those 3 months and I turn away.  I feel the same way about Petits pains au chocolat.

The coconut and chocolate combination is still a favourite of mine.  And thus, I give you:

Mounds Babies (adapted from the recipe published by Chocolate-Covered Katie)

Coconut Butter: coconut meat blended into a butter

Not so appetizing at this point

Ingredients:

  • 80 grams dates (I used regular store-brand dates but Katie recommends Medjool dates; I’ve got those in the pantry now for the  next attempt)
  • 15 grams (about 1 tablespoon) coconut butter (I used Artisana; you can probably substitute coconut oil but that will make them super rich
  • medium shredded unsweetened coconut
  • melted semi-sweet good quality chocolate

Directions:

1. Blend dates and coconut butter using your blending gadget-of-choice (I used my Cuisinart) until it forms a paste.

2. Form into little balls or log.

3.  Roll in melted chocolate and before chocolate hardens completely, roll in shredded coconut.

4.  Due to the melty nature of coconut butter, store the Mounds Babies in the fridge or freezer.

This recipe can include so many variations depending on your preferences.  I imagine rolling these in finely chopped almonds instead of coconut, or perhaps a mix for that Almond Joy flavour combination (not in my nut-free house, of course).

Experiment, enjoy, and let me know what you think.

Picky Lil D loves them and asks for them by name

Plus, if you are looking for raw, vegan, original, or just plain delicious sweet treats, check out Chocolate-Covered Katie‘s blog.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Fitness Friday (Part 2 of 2): My Week’s Workouts Style Tuesday: Workout Wear

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


