A Shout Out to Local Bloggers I Follow

January 19, 2011 at 10:51 am 8 comments

Interested in getting the lowdown on O-town?  Well, really the low down on Ottawa from the perspective of local blogs I read?

The blogs I’ve listed here are updated regularly, and I read them frequently.  I don’t always agree with their perspectives, but I check them out nevertheless:

Kitchissipi Kids – A great place to find out what’s happening in the area.

A Peek Inside the Fishbowl – a popular blogger from my ‘hood with a pretty, easy-to-read layout.  A good following means fun, and relevant giveaways too.

Losing It In Ottawa – a group of 6 ladies writing about their weight loss journeys

Finola’s Blog – another blogger from the ‘hood who started around the same time I did.  Finola is also training for an upcoming half-marathon.

Diary of a Turtlehead – Lynn made the header for my blog and is welcoming and engaging.  Funny posts from a mom with some of the same allergy issues we have.

Coffee with Julie – pretty layout; good writing

Postcards from the Mothership – if you’re into photography (I’m not), this is the place.  Dani has a great sense of humour and I prefer her witty writing to her photo posts.

Stay-At-Home Mayhem – Funny and raw – I really enjoy this.

I Found My Feet – Newer blogger – enjoying reading her perspective

Girl About O-Town – Katharine is not posting much these days cause she’s busy with a new business, but when she does, it’s interesting.

The O-Dot – an attempt to be “The Onion”esque about Ottawa – sometimes bang on.

Simply Fresh – a local food blog.  I like reading her restaurant reviews, the cooking stuff, not so much (but that’s a personal preference; there’s nothing wrong with it!).

Can anyone add to the “local” section of my Reader?  I’m specifically interested in finding more local fitness and/or running blogs and a good sense of humour always wins me over.  Suggestions are welcome!

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Otown. Tags: , , , , .

Style Tuesday: Workout Wear What to Bring on your Winter Vacation

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alicia  |  January 19, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Thanks for the shout out 🙂 And for a list of some new blogs I can check out. There may be some blogs under the Contributers tab on the Kids in the Capital blog that you may want to add? I would also like to find some local fitness blogs so I’m looking forward to what others contribute.

    Reply
  • 2. Lynn  |  January 19, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Thanks so much! I wanted to mention that I provided the snacks for my daughter’s preschool board meeting last night, so I made your Magic Bars with the crushed candy canes in them. They were DIVINE. Like, way TOO divine, because they barely made it to the meeting (I snuck several that “didn’t fit in the box”). Everyone raved about them. It’s a keeper for sure.

    In other news, I have a big list of Ottawa area bloggers on my links page. It’s rather out of date – I have at least six or seven more to add when I get around to it – but you can check them out:

    http://diaryofaturtlehead.wordpress.com/blogroll/

    Also you can look at the list of people who came to Blog Out Loud last year – that link is here:
    http://bolottawa.wordpress.com/2010/07/09/see-and-be-seen/

    Reply
  • 3. Alicia  |  January 21, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    Here’s one that I read, but I’m not sure if she’s in Ottawa.
    http://proudtobeafitmom.blogspot.com/

    Reply
    • 4. fitforakid  |  January 21, 2011 at 3:09 pm

      Thanks Alicia – i’ll add it to my reader!

      Reply
  • 5. girlaboutOtown  |  January 27, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Hey!

    Thanks so much for the shout out! Obviously, I’m not keeping up with the reading, let alone the writing. Hope the boys are having fun in their playroom too. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Erica at Kitchissippikids  |  January 28, 2011 at 2:59 am

    I am always so pleased to hear that somebody, anybody, reads my blog! Thanks for the shout out. Really appreciate it.

    Erica

    Reply
  • 7. dee  |  March 22, 2011 at 3:10 am

    Another Ottawa one that I like: the-fit-gourmet.blogspot.com

    Reply
    • 8. fitforakid  |  March 22, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      Thank you Dee! I’ve added it to my Reader.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


