Fitness Friday: I Rant. I Share. I Break It Down.

January 21, 2011 at 3:49 pm Leave a comment

Today I have for you a little rant, some active family fun on vacation, and my week’s workouts.

Last week I told you how enthusiastic I am about the Small Ball basketball program in which Lil D has been participating. Well, I’m very sad to say, the next session has been cancelled due to low enrolment. To make matters worse, Lil D was also registered for Sportball (ages 5-7) on Saturday mornings. It turns out that this activity has been cancelled too for the same reason.

Don’t parents want their 5 to 7 year olds to get out of the house and run in the winter? I just don’t get it.

A friend suggested that Ottawans are all out skating, hockeying and skiing in the winter. I don’t buy it.

I’m hoping it was a poor marketing job by the (generally amazing) community centre. We had to really search to find out about the Small Ball program. Perhaps the community centre has become complacent because their programs are generally so popular that they sell out in the first day or two?

In these two cases, I give them a big fail.

Now it’s very late in the season and many other programs are full.  After much time and effort, I have found an alternate Saturday physical activity (which still leaves me down one). It actually looks like an amazing indoor soccer skills program, but it’s a 20 minute drive from our home.

I guess kids in the east end of our city like indoor sports.

Now, some photos of the boys and their grown-ups playing on holiday:

The boys got into blastball (a version of baseball); I eventually did too.

Can you see him? Lil D playing nets in the beach soccer game

Pool basketball

Lil D's instructions: Go ask the guy at the towel desk for the volleyball. The soccer ball is too hard on my bare feet.

Our part-time babysitters get in some beach doubles

Lil C dances on stage in the show; he was lured by the possibility of candy...

... and he smashed the pinata with fervour for that candy

And then we finished the trip with a group plyometric workout; actually, we just jumped for joy

Running Rundown

Missed my long run this week due to travel.

Monday – 4 miles on the treadmill at speeds between 6.9 – 7.1 mph with a few 7.5 intervals thrown in.  Remember that “no running outside when it’s colder than -10 C” rule I have?  Well, it’s been in effect all week.

Wednesday – 7.5 miles on the treadmill – 2 mile warm-up; 1 minute faster intervals between 8.0-8.5 mph and 2 minute comfortable pace of 7.1 mph.  I was feeling so good that I thought there was something wrong with the treadmill I was on, so I switched.  Still felt good.  I had a cookie binge Tuesday evening so I’m thinking that perhaps I was just had well-stocked glycogen stores.

Strength Training Stats

Monday:  Greco Lean and Fit class with Derek.  We had a plank challenge.  Derek cheered me on and I came in third.  I just gave up after 3 minutes even though I wasn’t that tired.  I need to work on competitive drive and mental toughness.  These have never been my strong suit (right brother D?)

Wednesday:  Greco Lean and Fit class

Friday:  Workout with my trainer at Greco.  We’ve officially started my running-specific training sessions.  Leading up to my first half-marathon at the end of April, we will do a period of plyometric and strength training that should help improve my speed.  As we get closer to the race date, we will change the workouts accordingly (I don’t know what the accordingly means, but I know he has a plan).

I really, really detest lateral jumping moves.  My body does not like to move sideways; it doesn’t feel natural, which is kind of strange because always like to downhill ski.

I was jumping from side to side over little metal hurdles today and each time I landed it sounded like an elephant had entered the room.

Training hurdle

Do you have a “most-hated” type of drill or move in your workouts?

Entry filed under: Fitness, Otown. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

What to Bring on your Winter Vacation Parenting Highs and Lows

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


