Parenting Highs and Lows

January 24, 2011 at 3:02 pm 6 comments

This weekend and the days leading up to it were a study in parenting highs and lows.

Thursday: After school, Lil D and Lil C lace up the velcro straps on their skates, grab their hockey sticks and have a blast on the local outdoor rink with three of their little buddies.  By the end of the hour and a half they were both getting up and down and skating around.  Dinner and bedtime were a breeze.

Lil C

Lil D in green - taking a shot

Friday: After school, we repeat Thursday’s outdoor fun and then both families go out for dinner at The Wellington Diner.  We have the whole upstairs to ourselves so the kids can be as unruly as they need to be.  I personally am pleased with some of the menu changes they have made there; I had a tilapia and avocado sandwich with salad.

Saturday: After an active morning, we take the boys to the mall to have a quick lunch and get haircuts.  Lil D decides he doesn’t want a haircut.  He tells that to everyone at the mall in a very loud voice.  This is the second time I have carried him out of that particular mall kicking and screaming.  Of course, this time, I run into two couples I know who give me “I feel sorry for you” smiles and waves as I exit trying to avoid flailing limbs.

Lil C got a really good haircut.

Lil D continued his rant at home so he spent a whole hour in his room with Derek guarding the door.  It may have worked because he was relatively well-behaved the rest of the weekend.

Lil D’s outbursts are very hard to handle.  Or maybe I just don’t know how to handle them.  I’m told he will grow out of them when his emotional self catches up with his intellectual self, but will he?  I told my dad that he will either grow out of them or he will end up in jail.

Derek says he’s seen other five-year olds having tyrannical outbursts like Lil D’s.  I don’t think I have.

When he has calmed down, Lil D tells us that he doesn’t know why he acts like that.  He often doesn’t remember (or says that he doesn’t remember) what set him off.

I wrote about these outbursts back in November.  I think since then they have become less frequent.  But still…

Has anyone else experienced this?  Do they really grow out of this?  Or do I need to get some outside intervention?

Entry filed under: Parenting. Tags: , , , , .

Fitness Friday: I Rant. I Share. I Break It Down. Style Tuesday: -41 Degrees with the Windchill

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa Stevens  |  January 24, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    Lil D sounds a lot like Lil Z! Last year at 6 Lil Z told me that he doesn’t know why he acts like that either and often couldn’t remember what set him off. I believe that he had no control over his actions once he lost his temper. It just escalated and escalated. We spent many hours in Derek’s place in front of the bedroom door! However I have VERY good news for you! After a VERY rough end to the 2009/2010 school year, Lil Z’s summer was fantastic! This amazing behaviour has continued for this school year. I do believe that he has grown out of these outbursts and tantrums. As he approaches 7 I see things improving even more! So don’t worry, I think your dad is right! I hope he is….

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  January 24, 2011 at 4:20 pm

      Yay Lisa! Thanks for the good news and positive encouragement.

      Reply
  • 3. Lynn  |  January 25, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    I have to say we have been lucky to avoid most of these kinds of issues with our kids. If someone does have the odd meltdown it’s pretty much always because they are a) overtired or b) ate something they are allergic to. So as long as we stick to bedtimes and keep the diet under control we are okay.

    Do your read The Maven’s blog? It is here:
    http://stay-at-home-mayhem.blogspot.com/

    She has very similar and ongoing problems with her middle child. She occasionally posts an update. You should search her archives (she calls her middle one Gutsy) or email her directly, she’s a sweetie and I’m sure she would have lots of advice for you.

    Reply
    • 4. fitforakid  |  January 26, 2011 at 2:00 am

      Thanks Lynn. I do read her blog but started only recently. I went back through the archives as you suggested and found that there are definitely some similarities. I’m going to go back and read more thoroughly.

      Reply
  • 5. Mom  |  January 25, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    How about keeping a record of these full-blown extravaganzas? For your own peace of mind….. Maybe you’ll find that they are actually decreasing in frequency. The intensity may be increasing even as they decrease in frequency, so it may be hard to see the forest for the trees!

    Reply
    • 6. fitforakid  |  January 26, 2011 at 1:58 am

      Okay mom, I put the last two (yours and mine) on the calendar with location. That’s a good idea.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


