Style Tuesday: -41 Degrees with the Windchill

January 25, 2011 at 3:53 pm 2 comments

It wasn’t until I had a baby that I thought about real winter gear. Before that it was all about the fashion. I was in and out of the car and had a nice long coat for work and would get away with my leather boots from the parking lot to the office.  On the weekend I would still wear my trail running shoes (which probably only saw one trail) or just regular fashion boots for in and out of the car.

And then in late 2005 I had a baby.  I needed to get out of the house to keep sane. Sneakers and a leather jacket were not going to cut it.  So I took a (cold) walk down to the corner outdoor gear boutique and  found the cutest ski jacket I could find and some short but sporty boots from The North Face.  I even bought a proper hat and warm mitts.

And then I actually enjoyed going outside in the winter.

Over the last five years, I have acquired a good closet full of winter boots and coats. In fact, this year the closet was too full for my clutter-free nature, so I donated that first ski jacket and sold a parka that was too big (bought during the early months of my second pregnancy) – did you know that there is a GREAT market for gently used name brand winter gear?

And did you know that this is the perfect time of year to get great deals on winter gear?

Yesterday it was -41 degrees celsius with the windchill. On the way to school I asked the boys if they would like to come with me to Florida to visit their great-grandmother (Nanny A.). I reminded them that the weather there is warm and there would be no need for hats and mitts. Neither child was interested. They told me they like skating and playing hockey. Really? They’re telling me this on the coldest day of the year?

I guess I must finally accept that I live in Canada in the winter. Thankfully, I’ve noticed that outdoor gear manufacturers have become more fashion-conscious over the last few year.  And I’m just glad I have a choice of cute boots and a really warm parka.

My newest acquisition this past weekend (on sale):

Hailey - The North Face - Black

My current day-to-day parka:

Lole Katie parka in Moonlight

Upon deciding to move from Toronto back to Ottawa in 2003, I recall asking my best friend to please tell me if she ever noticed my style becoming too “Ottawa”. I’m wondering if my new appreciation for winter wear makes me “Ottawa”.

Am I the only one who started dressing properly for winter recently? Is it my stage in life, or have others noticed that winter wear is now more fashionable even when super-functional?

Entry filed under: Fashion, Otown, Style. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Parenting Highs and Lows Vaccine Overdose: What the Reaction Means (or Finding the Silver Lining)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  January 26, 2011 at 12:56 am

    I am absolutely 100% non-fashion conscious in the winter if I can be warm instead. I layer it up with the ugliest coat, the most massive Frankenboots, and the most embarrassing hat-with-ear-flaps I can find. Add in several (SEVERAL) scarves and a boxy fleece UNDER the jacket…and occasional snowpants…and I’m sure I cut QUITE the figure.

    My whole wardrobe has definitely gone Ottawa. I have a shameful amount of fleece in my closet, not to mention all the waterproof/windproof shells and long underwear. Aye aye aye.

    Reply
  • 2. Your best friend  |  February 1, 2011 at 3:21 am

    I’d say you are fashionably practical! Based on the boys’ response, are you still going to come to Fla when we’re there?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


