Fitness Friday: Request for Input on Exercise-Induced Asthma in Kids and Treadmill Running

January 28, 2011 at 12:57 pm 6 comments

I’ve got a couple of questions today and I’d love for you to share your experiences.

Exercise-Induced Asthma in Kids:

In early January, I noticed that every time Lil D would start running (which is often) he would start coughing. Depending on his level of exertion, the cough could be a single dry hack every few seconds or two or three sequential coughs every few seconds. It’s now been a good three weeks and it hasn’t changed. I suspect mild exercise-induced asthma. It runs in the family, and it fits with “the allergy kid” profile.

Does anyone have any experience with this? I’m wondering how it’s diagnosed, and I’m also wondering how to get him to take a puffer if that’s required. He keeps telling me the cough doesn’t bother him. He’s really incorporated it into his playing routine. For instance, I watch him dribble. It looks like bounce, bounce, arm over mouth to cover cough, bounce. Or, when he plays hockey, it’s glide, glide, shoot, arm over mouth to cough, slide to stop and see where his shot went.

Treadmill Running

For those of you who run on the treadmill, what incline do you set to best mimic running outside or at least offset the fact that treadmill running is “easier”?

Until this week, I was setting the incline to 0.5%, but this week I bumped it up to 1.0%.  Of course if I were doing a hill training workout, the incline would be different (but I haven’t been).

Any thoughts?

Running Rundown

From now on I am going to report distances in kms in addition to miles. I do live in Canada after all. I’m also going to try to report pace per km/mile.

Saturday – 10 miles (16km) on the treadmill – 8:34 per mile (5:21 per km) pace

Monday – 4.5 miles (7 km) easy run on the treadmill at 9:12 per mile (5:45 per km) pace.

Wednesday – 4.5 (7 km) tempo run on the treadmill – 1 mile warm-up (1.6 km) at 9:12 per mile (5:45 per km); 2.5 miles (4 km) at 8:00 per mile (5:00 per km); 1 mile cool-down (1.6 km) at 9:30 per km (5:57 per km)

This was my first real tempo run where I’ve held the pace like that, rather than doing shorter intervals. I enjoyed it. There were one or two moments where I was looking at the clock, but otherwise it was fun.

This week I started a weekly training program. Matt, my trainer, is sending it to me week by week so we can make changes as we go based on my feedback. It’s kinda fun this way. I’ll get a surprise in my inbox every Monday morning.  These were his instructions this week (which were very necessary as both Monday and Wednesday I really wanted to keep going).

“Make sure to follow the pace and distance even if you feel you can go faster or longer. Trust me pushing for every run is not worth it. Were going to build our way up.”

Strength Training Stats

Monday:  Greco Lean and Fit class with Derek.  We rushed in late and then my nose started bleeding about 4 minutes into the workout. Gotta love my nose in the cold dry weather. I managed to join back in a few minutes later but attempted to keep my head up the rest of the workout. Can’t say I had the best time.

Wednesday:  Skipped circuit training and went to a Hatha Flow yoga class instead. Lovely and peaceful. And I even feel it a bit in my shoulders the next morning.

Friday:  Kids have a P.D. Day so no (formal) workout for moi. I will instead be climbing Tubes and Jujubes.

Have a great weekend!

Entry filed under: Fitness. Tags: , , , , .

New – and Possibly Favourite – Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe with Exclusively Brown Sugar Meatless Monday: A Vegetarian Makes a Roast

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alicia  |  January 28, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    With regards to the treadmill level; I used to work in a gym and the trainers would tell me that you need to set it at 2% or higher to mimic outdoors. I’m not sure how accurate that is though.

    How do you like Greco? Hubby did a trial there last week.

    Wow, you are one fit Mama!

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  January 30, 2011 at 4:35 pm

      yikes Alicia! I’ll try 2% but I think that is gonna be hard!

      Love Greco. Been going for two years now and never been in better shape. My hubs joined about 6 months ago and sees a difference in his basketball game as a result.

      Reply
      • 3. Delanie  |  February 1, 2011 at 5:17 pm

        Last week I signed up for the 10 week Lean and Fit program. I did my first class last night. I was a little intimidated going in but it turned out to be a great workout. I’m really looking forward to going back.

  • 4. Finola  |  January 29, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    Wow you are a fast runner! Have you always been like that? I can never seem to get beyond a 1 hour 10K pace, and even that I can’t sustain longer than 10K.

    As for the asthma, my daughter has that exact cough. It acts up in the cold and at night too. She is on a puffer year round, and with a spacer she has no problem using it. She also has a peanut allergy, and we have been told that with this allergy it is extra important to keep her asthma under control because if she has a peanut exposure and her asthma is acting up, then her system is primed for a bigger allergic response.
    As for diagnosis, this has just been based on her symptoms. After going through testing myself, I don’t think asthma testing is very accurate.
    Happy Training!

    Reply
    • 5. fitforakid  |  January 30, 2011 at 4:22 pm

      Re running: I have not always been this fast, though fast is relative! I actually hadn’t been running for about 8 years until this past April, and then it was only once a week until Dec. When used to run in my late twenties, I ran about a 55 minute 10k.

      I have been doing a lot of circuit training including plyometrics and heavier weight training over the last two years. I credit my increase in speed to that (what else could it be)? I know you’re weight training so that should help. And of course, speed training.

      One other thing I just thought of: I think that pregnancy and childbirth has increased my threshold for a pain and willingness to accept discomfort so I can push myself harder.

      Reply
    • 6. fitforakid  |  January 30, 2011 at 4:23 pm

      Great info about the asthma. We went to the doctor and she is sending him for testing. I will keep your comment about the testing in mind in case it comes up negative and the cough doesn’t resolve itself.

      I’m sure I’ll be posting about this again in the future.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


