Style Tuesday: This Old Bag

February 2, 2011 at 3:56 am 8 comments

Sunday January 15th 11:50 pm:

We wearily but quickly step off the plane into the chilly Ottawa airport. We are a group of six tired travellers, my parents, my children, my husband and myself. We are home.

We quickly pass through immigration and our bags are among the first off the circling caterpillar. We heave the luggage onto carts and head towards the one last person who could keep us from our warm beds.

We hand the customs form to the stern woman dressed in blue. She pauses, looks up and glances back down. We wait.

She says “thank you”. The double doors swing open and we can already feel the cold air rushing in through the outer doors into the foyer. We all pause and open the suitcases to retrieve our jackets. We find them and dress ourselves for the brisk winter air.

FLASHBACK TO ONE WEEK PRIOR – January 8, 2011

The tall man with a bluetooth piece in his ear rings our doorbell. The boys are finishing their warm bagels (one with jam, one without) and they look up through the glass door at the man and go back to what they are doing. I run to the door and tell him we’ll be out in a second. Derek goes out through the door on the lower level and loads the bags into the van.

For once, the boys are not slow putting on their shoes. They find it amusing to put on shoes in a snowstorm. Neither wants to wet his shoes and both insist that they be carried to the van.

I lock the door and put the key chain into my jacket pocket. I snap it shut. Derek asks me to remember where I put the keys and asks if they are somewhere safe in a zippered pocket. I confirm, saying they are deep in my snapped-shut pocket instead. Derek then asks if I’m sure I’ve locked the door and armed the security system (he usually checks this himself about three times before we leave the house to go to the end of the driveway). I give the affirmative, rolling my inner eyes.

BACK TO JANUARY 15TH; ACTUALLY NOW VERY EARLY JANUARY 16TH

We have donned our hats and mitts and have seen that the van has arrived to pick us up. For any Ottawans, this is an amazing service for families or groups travelling together. The six of us and all our luggage fit in the one van and it was way cheaper than two cabs or a week of parking. Plus, the service will keep your car seats in their garage and pick you up with them on your return so the trip to and from the airport are safe and you don’t have to travel with your car seats if you don’t need them at your destination.

I reach into my snapped shut pocket (yes, that’s right. I can reach my hand in, even with the snap done up). Can you guess what’s coming next?

No keys.

No keys in my left pocket. No keys in my right pocket. No keys in my carry-on. No keys in my suitcase. No keys in any mother-effin’ suitcase. The steam is slowly beginning to seep out of Derek’s ears. Yet his demeanour remains calm on the surface.

My dad is pacing.

My mom suggests we just go sleep at their house. We each have a room at their house and the beds are made up, she tells us.We know she doesn’t have a key to our house because we took it back from her and haven’t yet returned it.

We go. The boys curl up in warm beds in familiar rooms. Derek and I strip-search our luggage.

Nothing.

Derek still has not said a word of blame. I know he wants to. But he can’t.

Because a month earlier he has lost the other fucking set of keys at a Sunday men’s league basketball game; he had to call a cab to bring him home.

So, let’s wrap this story up. The next morning I called the woman who cleans our home and I went to retrieve the only other existing and available house key from  her.

We have since replaced our house keys and two of those bloody expensive car keys with the buttons on them.

And now to the moral of this story: I need zip closures, and my current purse only has a magnetic snap.

Time to go shopping!

Here is my every day bag.

Got this at Banana Republic in the fall. I love the colour.

It is stained, and falls off the passenger seat upside down once a day. I pick up the contents but usually something gets left under the car seat.

I also have these two cross-body small bags, but in the winter, I prefer a bigger bag so I can stuff in hats and mitts or other items when I get “Mama, can you hold this for me?”.

Please disregard the bright pink pyjama pants on the model

I like this gold colour, but again, what's with the model?! This time she is wearing pyjama pants and showing a little skin

So now I’m in the market for a zip closure larger bag. I’m thinking black.

I’m not a multiple bag or expensive bag woman. It’s not something that does it for me. Plus, I’m so hard on my stuff that it would be such a waste. That being said, I don’t really like junk either.

So, I need your help here. What do you think about these:

Matt & Natt - not leather; appeals to the vegetarian in me

Roots - Olivia Bag; cute red lining that makes finding things easier...

And I’m thinking maybe this one for spring. It’s from Banana Republic and I feel like I get a coupon for at least 30% off from them every other day!

This Matt and Natt sale bag could take me from winter to spring in navy

So, tell me. Do you have the patience to change your purse with your outfit? When I go out in the evening, I will switch up the clutches, but during the day, I’m pretty much going with one tote a season.

In the story above, my parents marvelled at how Derek and I kept our (relative) cool throughout the incident. It’s because we are losers. We are used to these mini-crises. It’s just a part of our lives. Of course, Derek blames it on me as “house manager”. He has delegated this role to me therefore absolving himself of responsibility. And apparently, I need a better system for this too…

Are you a loser like me? Or do you have a great system to share?

Entry filed under: Fashion, General Ramblings On, Style. Tags: , , , .

Meatless Monday: A Vegetarian Makes a Roast The Most Aggressive Squirrels in Ottawa Call this Home

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Finola  |  February 2, 2011 at 11:47 am

    When we renovated last year we replaced our back door and added a keypad code lock to it. I love it more than I ever thought I would and I would never be without one again. We can always get into the house, and when the kids get a bit older we won’t have to worry about having them carry keys around.

    As for the bags, I am not very styling and so am completely unqualified to comment, but they all look nice to me 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  February 9, 2011 at 2:42 pm

      Keypad lock may be in our future on the back door!

      Reply
  • 3. Melissa  |  February 2, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    Well, who takes fashion advice from the most unfashionable girl in W-boro, but I really like the Banana Republic one along with the first Matt and Nat one 🙂
    And I have had to call a locksmith more than once to let me into my own house, so, I raise my hand to key-loserdom 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Krista  |  February 2, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    I am also a loser, and DH is not. We have a system that involves me never having anything of importance – keys, plane tix, passports, wallets, credit cards, lens caps… as I will lose them in 3 seconds flat. I then do my “the sky is falling” panicked flap trying to find what I have lost. It both amuses and infuriates us both.

    Seeing as I rarely have anything of importance, I am not much of a bag carrier. I only ever carry my camera bag and wallet. I do however, like the first matt and nat, and the roots bag right under it 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. fitforakid  |  February 9, 2011 at 2:43 pm

      Krista, the problem is we are both losers and I’m the lesser one! I know that panicked flap very well.

      Reply
  • 6. Julie Drury  |  February 2, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    LuLu Lemon has a great bag. It is large and meant to hold lots of ‘stuff’. Also has waterproof inside pockets for leaky bottles or snacks that spill. The current style is a large black leather bag/purse.

    As for strategies, I keep my keyes in my jacket pocket. Whichever jacket I wore last is where they will be.
    That or a my purse, or the ‘junk’ drawer.

    I lost my extra car key 2 days after buying the car, so perhaps my strategy has something to be desired.

    Reply
    • 7. fitforakid  |  February 9, 2011 at 2:45 pm

      I’ll check that bag out, and yeah, I’m not sure if that strategy is structured enough for what goes on around here.

      Reply
  • 8. Style Tuesday: Another Quick Update « Fit for a kid  |  March 1, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    […] a few days after the Style Tuesday: This Old Bag post, Derek answered the door to the UPS guy as I was sitting in the living room doing some work. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


