Baked Treat for One (or Two)

February 3, 2011 at 11:01 am 1 comment

I have two teenage first cousins.  They are my only first cousins and they are 13 and 17.

Did you know teenage cousins make excellent babysitters?  Especially when they live a 10-minute walk away.

My 13-year-old cousin is very adept in the kitchen.  She knows I have a soft spot for sweet baked goods and she sent me a recipe for brownies.  It just so happens that I get a request for brownies from Lil D occasionally, and I don’t always feel like baking a whole pan – or having the rest of the pan around the house to tempt me after he’s had his little boy-sized portion.

It just so happens the recipe my little cousin sent me is for a very small portion of brownies – made in a mug – in the microwave.

Here’s the recipe verbatim, as she “Facebooked” it to me:

here is the brownie we usually make half of it cause its alot but its pretty good

4 tablespoons flour
4 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa
dash of salt
2 tablespoons vegetable oil (FfaK:I couldn’t do it – I added only one and some extra water)
2 tablespoons water
1/3 teaspoon vanilla
small handful of chocolate chips (FfaK optional – I left these out)

Instructions

Whisk together dry ingredients in a coffee mug, standard size (11 oz.) or larger. Add oil, water, and vanilla and mix thoroughly–making sure to scrape the bottom and sides so that it’s all incorporated. If you’d like, mix in chocolate chips.

Microwave on high for 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. The finished product will be soft-ish and chewy.

In the name of science, before publishing this post, I sacrificed myself and tested this recipe.

 

As it's being made

 

 

 

Going into the microwave

 

 

 

Voila!

 

Here are the Nutrition Facts (with only one tablespoon of oil and no chocolate chips).

This recipe really makes 2 servings (when I tested, Derek had half and I had half)

So, for half the recipe:

Calories 230, calories from fat 71

Total fat 7.9g, saturated fat 1 g

Sodium 1 mg

Carbs 40 g

Fiber 2 g

Sugar 25 g (yikes! But yummm…)

Protein 2.6 g

But wait – if you’re like me, you looked at this recipe and thought, ” wow, that’s a lot of oil and sugar for that size product.”  And if you’re even more like me, you might still make it occasionally because it tastes good.  But perhaps, for every day, we should try something with less sugar.

So soon, very soon, I’m going to adapt another single-serving recipe to my taste and test it out. But in the meantime, when that chocolate craving hits, try this one out and let me know what you think.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

The Most Aggressive Squirrels in Ottawa Call this Home Fitness Friday: Your Turn to Share and a Five-Year Old’s Photo Essay

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  February 5, 2011 at 12:29 am

    Just made this for an after-dinner dessert. It’s safe for my son – he’s allergic to eggs and I don’t think he has ever had a brownie before. I made each kid a half-recipe in a mug and cooked it for just 45 seconds.

    My son thought it was good but couldn’t come close to finishing it. The girls actually did not like it (BIGGEST WTF EVER) and had skittles instead.

    I still think I’ll make it again, since it’s exciting to me to find cool treats for my son, and it’s kind of a cool novel thing to make for guests at dinner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


