Fitness Friday: Your Turn to Share and a Five-Year Old’s Photo Essay

February 4, 2011 at 5:45 pm 8 comments

For the past few weeks I have been logging my workouts with you. I do it to keep myself accountable, to have a training diary that I can look back at, and to share with you with the enjoyment I’m getting from my physical activity.

But let’s trade workouts this week. It’s your turn.

Tell me about your favourite workout this week. I know you had one.

Jenn, was it the long run or the pseudo-speed work in a snow storm? Finola, long run or tempo? Delanie, was your first workout at Greco your best this week? Alicia, did you get time to workout? Lisa K., you must have worked out with your trainer. Julie, you’re an animal so was it the long therapeutic run or another early morning session? Moffman, how’s training for Around the Bay going? Tish, you running yet? Mindy, how was running on the snow day? Tracey, how is the Couch to 5k going? Mom, I’m sure one of  your morning brisk walks was more fun than the others.

Okay commenters – go to it! And just cause I didn’t name you doesn’t mean I don’t want to know what you’re doing. I do. I do! It’s just that you haven’t commented recently on a fitness post. So please, spill!

So, here’s my week at a glance:

Running Rundown

Saturday – 7 miles (12 km) in the snow – 10 km with the Elation Centre Run Club and 2 km on my own (to the Centre and then home). – 10:00 per mile (6:10 per km) pace. The footing was precarious so we really took our time. This was my favourite workout of the week because it was so different than what I’m used to, firstly running with a (really nice) group and running in the snow. Boy did I feel Canadian.

Monday – 5.5 miles (8.8 km) easy run on the treadmill at 8:34 per mile (5:30 per km) pace with some speed intervals thrown in to keep me interested and motivated on that machine.

Wednesday – 5.5 miles (8.8 km) tempo run on the treadmill – 0.75 mile (approx 1 km) warm-up at 8:57 per mile (5:38 per km); 3.5 miles (6 km) at 8:00 per mile (5:00 per km); 1.3 miles (approx 2 km) cool-down at 9:30 per mile (5:57 per km)

Strength Training Stats

Tuesday:  Greco Lean and Fit class at Kanata location. Perfect class for me on this day. Lots of core and upper body.

Friday:  Heavy weight workout with trainer; I had a hard time holding my water bottle afterwards and walking down the stairs was not too much fun.

This week Matthieu (trainer) and I talked about fuel (i.e. nutrition). I am hungry. He agreed that I need to increase my caloric intake with my increase in running, plus, I need to increase my protein intake. I’m going to have to go back to more regular protein supplements since the veg diet (at least the stuff I like) is not providing what I need (hence the hunger, at least partially).

Can’t wait to hear about your best workouts this week.

BUT FIRST, a photo essay entitled, Mom, make me a mango strawberry smoothie please (okay, I had to ask for the “please”) photographed by Lil D.

getting out the fish oil; he only knows it as "orangey oil"

The breakfast mess

Mom, you looked away from the camera!

Look at the pretty pink colour; I think it's going to be a good one.

Pour it in my ESM cup (yes, we go there sometimes)

Yummmm. Best smoothie ever (until the next one).

Have a great weekend!

Entry filed under: Fitness, nutrition. Tags: , , , , , , .

Baked Treat for One (or Two) Monday Musings: What Are the Odds?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenn Beyak  |  February 4, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    My best workout was also the Sat am 10.5 km group run – a great group and tougher than usual conditions. I did two other runs this week that were great as well, one on Monday night (cold air but clear streets) and another on Wed night (partially cleared sidewalks and streets, a very challenging run). Last night was my core conditioning class at Elation Centre with Deb…fantastic! I can feel myself getting stronger with every class. Looking forward to the 12k group run tomorrow with you Liisa!!

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa Stevens  |  February 4, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Yesterday’s 60 min Body Combat class at Goodlife! I enjoy this particular instructor. He’s motivating and not too bad to look at either! There’s a killer leg track that gets me every time! Legs are sore for days! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Julie Drury  |  February 4, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    I love that I’m an ‘animal’!! 🙂

    Favorite workout this week? Darn, you should have picked another week. I think I am suffering from a wee bit of over-training (which can sometimes happen for me). Symptoms: not wanting to get up for workouts, feeling very overtired/sluggish, eating everything in site (mostly sugar).

    My favorite workout likley would have been my Thursday morning (6 a.m. in the pitch dark) tempo run. This was post-snowstorm and it would have had that hush of a fresh and heavy snowfall. The footing would have been less than ideal, but at least it wouldn’t have been -30! In any case, it was the workout that wasn’t since I didn’t drag myself out of bed to meet the girls I run with.

    I think my favorite workout story will likely be the long run planned for Saturday. We are aiming for 30k or 3 hours, whichever comes first.

    Happy Training!

    Julie

    Reply
  • 4. Mom  |  February 5, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    My early morning workouts are ‘walkouts’….and the best ones are the ones with great conversation…the time passes so quickly that it’s breakfast time before we know it! This week I was treated to an incredible story about being in Cairo last weekend as the Egyptian ‘revolution’ started. My friend Gail and several friends were stuck for two days in and around their Cairo hotel….with occasional trips ‘into the fray’ against the advice of their group guide. We had a very interesting discussion about what you do in this situation….do you leave at the first opportunity (they did have one!) or do you stay until your scheduled flight a couple of days later and watch history in the making? I know what I would do….

    Reply
  • 5. Delanie  |  February 5, 2011 at 1:09 pm

    My best workout of the week so far would be the lean and fit class I did on Thursday night. It was only my second class and it was way harder than the first. Lots of jumping and lunges. We are going to Winterlude today which will probably turn out to be my favorite workout of the week ;o)
    Next week I will start incorpotating some runs in to my routine to get ready for race weekend in May. I’m leaning towards the 10k this year.
    Have a good weekend and good luck on your run!

    Reply
  • 6. Alicia  |  February 6, 2011 at 1:32 am

    Well as you could see from my post yesterday I didn’t do much of anything this past week. We did have a great skate on the canal on the weekend though. I really like your fitness fridays and reading about your plans makes me motivated to get mine in gear!

    Reply
  • 7. Finola  |  February 6, 2011 at 3:17 am

    Oh – you caught me! I’ll have to say my long run because I missed both my interval and tempo runs this week 😦
    But 16K today, done like dinner!
    Has anyone ever told you that you are very photogenic? 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. fitforakid  |  February 9, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    Yay! Thanks for posting your fav workouts everyone. It keeps me motivated to here from you. Please continue to update me on Fridays if you feel like it.

    And that goes for all of you who have commented here too:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


