My New Friend, the Turnip

February 9, 2011 at 12:44 pm 7 comments

I have a new favourite vegetable: the turnip.

The love affair began at this wedding on New Year’s Day.

Privacy for all but the cute baby, the newlyweds and moi

There was a platter of raw vegetables during the cocktail hour that included sticks of raw turnip. YUM. I think I ate that whole section of the platter myself.

Fast forward a few days and I find myself at Farm Boy. There in the produce section I find a bag of prepared raw peeled and chopped turnip. It finds it’s way into my cart and I eat the whole thing within a few days.

I then realized that I had no idea what a raw whole turnip looked like exactly. In my head I was picturing a huge rutabaga that would be a pain to peel and prepare. But when I expressed my trepidation about cutting up a raw turnip, my mom looked at me strangely and said, “you just peel it like a radish”.

This week I found the turnips at the grocery store. They are smaller than I pictured. Peeling and chopping them was simple.

Last night I added turnip to my taco salad for crunch instead of a tortilla; this isn't my salad

And of course, the turnip’s nutritional profile is lovely:

1 medium turnip (122g) has:

approximately 34 calories, 8 g carbohydrates, 0 g fat, 1 g protein, 2 g fiber. It has about half your daily recommended allowance of Vitamin C.

This week, in addition to munching it raw, I may try to cook it. Turnip fries anyone?

So go out and get yourself some turnip and let me know what you think.

Entry filed under: nutrition, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Style Tuesday: Getting Sick – All the Kids Are Doing It. Picky Preschooler? Try Thai Food.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenn Beyak  |  February 9, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Ok Liisa,
    I can’t believe you didn’t know what a turnip looked like. Glad you have made this enlightening discovery about this humble root vegetable : )

    Reply
    • 2. fitforakid  |  February 9, 2011 at 2:04 pm

      Jenn, turnips have truly not been a part of my diet. I am happy to have discovered them.

      Reply
  • 3. fitforakid  |  February 9, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    This morning I am wondering what my life has come to if I am writing blog posts about turnips.

    Reply
  • 4. Jenn Beyak  |  February 9, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    I am wondering about your current mental state as well : )

    i’ll be staying tuned for the parsnip revelations!!

    Reply
    • 5. fitforakid  |  February 9, 2011 at 7:55 pm

      Oh parsnips! I do love parsnips. But they are old news for me.

      Reply
  • 6. Alicia  |  February 9, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Haha I had the same experience with parsnips! When little E was starting solids (and I was making all his food) I was determined to introduce him to every vegetable. The first time I made pureed parsnips I was in love and couldn’t believe I had gone this long in like with out it!
    I’ve roasted turnips with other veggies, but would love to hear how the fries turn out!

    Reply
  • 7. mostlyfitmom  |  February 10, 2011 at 1:21 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    I haven’t had turnips in, uh, 20 years? Did not enjoy the experience the first couple of times, but maybe it’s time to try again. I didn’t even know you could eat them raw!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


