Lil C Is on a Diet Starting Tomorrow

February 14, 2011 at 5:44 pm 10 comments

Enjoying a strawberry daiquiri at the beach bar with his uncle

I’m putting Lil C on a diet. No, he’s not overweight or overfat or obese. He is simply fueled by sugar and fat.

The child rarely eats anything that is not sweet. I thought of it as one of his quirks. This weekend I noticed that he was barely eating at meals because he was getting little treats for Valentine’s Day everywhere we went (and at home).

So it’s time to give his little three-year old taste-buds a make-over.

Tomorrow will be Day 1 (today would be just too difficult given that it’s V-Day).

I’m going to record what he eats for a week, including two weekend days when we get LAZY. We will avoid candy, chocolate, cookies, cake, maple syrup and french fries, as these our the worst offenders. I’ve done this before with Lil D and it was successful. The key was to make sure he didn’t know about the whole plan.

I know Lil C is a very different child, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Does anyone else have a preschooler with a raging sweet tooth? Have you had any success in curbing it? Any suggestions are MORE than welcome.

This is what he would think of my plan

This is what he first thought of my toilet training plan

Entry filed under: nutrition, Parenting. Tags: , , , , .

Valentine’s Day: Next Time Remind Me that I’m a Better Shopper than DIYer A Note about the “Nanny A’s Story”

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lynn  |  February 14, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    I also think my three year old eats way too much sugar. Her diet is radically different than when my oldest was three – he barely knew what candy was. She gets treats a few times a day, drinks milk only if it’s chocolate, and routinely skips the fruits and vegetable parts of her meal.

    I didn’t have this problem with the older two because their diets were different from the start. So I’d love to hear all about how the diet is going, and any tips or tricks you find worked really well to push your son’s diet in a healthier direction!

    Reply
  • 2. fitforakid  |  February 15, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Lynn, I’ll keep you posted. Lunches for Day1 have been made.

    Reply
  • […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Fit for a Kid, Fit for a Kid. Fit for a Kid said: Day 1 of Lil C's "diet" went well! He screamed "CANDY" for 30 secs & forgot about it. On to Day 2. Post re diet here: http://wp.me/pOUJj-ua […]

    Reply
  • 4. Sweet Tooth Gets a (Healthy) Treat « Fit for a kid  |  March 30, 2011 at 4:49 am

    […] have written before about my Lil C’s sweet tooth and my efforts to curb […]

    Reply
  • 5. cant stop eating  |  January 23, 2014 at 12:13 pm

    Hi, for all time i used to check weblog posts here in the early hours
    in the break of day, as i enjoy to learn more and more.

    Reply
  • 6. Celia K. Spilis  |  September 21, 2014 at 12:00 am

    I was recommended this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem.
    You’re incredible! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 7. Marvis A. Roussel  |  September 24, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    My brother suggested I may like this web site.
    He used to be entirely right. This put up truly made my day.
    You cann’t consider just how much time I had spent for this info!

    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 8. Marylouise M. Lale  |  September 29, 2014 at 8:30 pm

    Its not my first time to pay a visit this web page, i am browsing this web site dailly and obtain good facts from here daily.

    Reply
  • 9. Karl U. Ikner  |  October 3, 2014 at 12:14 am

    Hey there, You’ve done an incredible job.
    I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to
    my friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this website.

    Reply
  • 10. Jonnie G. Dilday  |  October 8, 2014 at 6:53 am

    Paragraph writing is also a fun, if you be familiar with after
    that you can write otherwise it is complicated to write.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


