Valentine’s Day: Next Time Remind Me that I’m a Better Shopper than DIYer

February 14, 2011 at 12:03 pm 2 comments

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Yes, I celebrate. How ’bout you?

This weekend, I tried to do some kid-centric V-Day themed activities leading up to today. I made lemon cupcakes from a mix which fell flat, but the home-made strawberry frosting was divine.

This is what the rest of the cupcakes looked like:

A big sickly sweet mess (which is still disappearing from the fridge)

Here’s the recipe for the frosting:

Strawberry Butter Cream Frosting

8 strawberries  (frozen or fresh)
1/2 cup butter, softened
3 3/4 cup confectioners sugar

  1. Puree strawberries with hand blender.
  2. Cream butter is mixer.
  3. Add berry puree and sugar.

The longer you mix the more air will be incorporated into your icing so mix according to your preference. Enjoy!

I then attempted to rescue my mess by making cake balls/pops. That strawberry frosting saved them, but still, they taste sickly sweet and they aren’t very pretty.

Please, go ahead and laugh if you must.

The most successful attempt at DIY this weekend was the hand-made Valentines for the boys’ classmates. I did 90% of the work but both boys were very interested and involved. Once they were made, Lil D, in his Montessori way, proceeded to organize and arrange them in several groupings before he found the optimal organizational strategy for distribution in the morning.

Here’s what we I did:

  1. Cut out hearts from bristol board for the backing.
  2. Cut out rectangles from red, white and pink construction paper that the boys could glue to the hearts.
  3. Let the boys glue the rectangles to the hearts. I ended up doing about half of this as they got tired of it.
  4. Lil C scribbled on a few of the squares. Lil D wrote “To: xxxx; From: xxxx” on the first few and by the end, was just signing his name.
  5. Lil D organized the Valentine’s into groups and decided which group would get which colour chocolate.
  6. He then passed each one to me and I used the glue gun to attach them (Lil D’s idea; the teacher uses a glue gun at school occasionally). This is the first time I’ve used my glue gun since 1997 and back then I only used it once.

The state of the kids’ work table in the playroom at bedtime Valentine’s Day Eve:

I also managed to purchase a couple of Valentine’s Day items which I’m very proud to show you.

For the boys’ teachers:

Beautifully decorated sugar cookies from the local chocolate boutique

From the boys:

Filled with chocolates

Next year I’m going to stick with well-purchased items selected with love. Hand-made maybe, but screw home-made.

Entry filed under: General Ramblings On, Parenting, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Fitness Friday: Let’s Talk Vitamins and Minerals Lil C Is on a Diet Starting Tomorrow

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alicia  |  February 14, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Mmmm. Everything looks just fine to me!

    Reply
  • 2. Lil C Is on a Diet Starting Tomorrow « Fit for a kid  |  February 14, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    […] The child rarely eats anything that is not sweet. I thought of it as one of his quirks. This weekend I noticed that he was barely eating at meals because he was getting little treats for Valentine’s Day everywhere we went (and at home). […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


