Style Tuesday: Pretty Underthings

February 15, 2011 at 12:30 pm 7 comments

Reader beware. There may be too much information for some of you below.

Three things about me:

1) I like clothes.

2) I like shopping.

3) I don’t like being uncomfortable.

Let’s discuss item number three on that list in more detail.

I don’t like itchy clothing. I don’t like clothing that is too tight. I don’t like clothing that makes me feel uncomfortable because it’s not “me” (or it’s ugly, but then again nothing ugly would be “me”, right?).

I also don’t like uncomfortable shopping experiences with pushy salespeople, aloof salespeople, bored salespeople, uninformed or misinformed salespeople. It’s also nice to feel comfortable in one’s physical surroundings while shopping. I remember shopping at one not-so-cheap wedding dress boutique (I won’t name it, but I will give you a hint. The owners were married, are now divorced, and have recently opened competing shops down the street from each other), and my mom put her hand on a shelf covered in a cm thick layer of dust. The bottoms of the sample dresses were completely grey. It was a total turn-off and they the lost the sale about 5 minutes into our visit.

But I digress. Where was I? Oh yes, I like to be comfortable. So, what I wear next to my skin must be ultra-comfortable.

This is what I usually have on under my clothes. Jockey bikini undies purchased in 3 packs at department stores. I have them in many colours and patterns.

My bras are usually just as exciting. I detest the scratchy feeling of lace, and well, I wear a lot of knits and the seamless bra styles are more wearable. Excessive underwear lines are not flattering.

Four out of seven days a week, I start my day in a sports bra like this:

Someone in my life (I’m not naming names) requested that I shake it up a bit. I decided to give it a try. But that ‘uncomfortable’ thing was really holding me back.

Last week, I took myself out for an attempt at a shopping spree. First stop, the newish Lilac Lingerie on Richmond Road. The saleswoman (who I believe was the owner) was helpful and sweet. She kept pulling the curtain to the fitting room the rest of the way closed after handing me something to try, since I was clearly not going to do it; did I mention I’m not shy?

The prices in this cute boutique were reasonable for the product.

Got the top; still seamless in the front with tiny little rhinestone detail, and the lace on the back doesn't touch your skin

And this pretty thing will be a nice change from my usual white camis under my sweaters. Got the matching undies too:

Then I went down the road to Brio. Found a gorgeous Freya bra that fit perfectly. It does have seams, but I’ll survive.

Brio is one store with good service and a sensible return policy. You can return bras within two weeks. Another store across Richmond Road at which I have had TERRIBLE customer service (bright pink logo; starts with B ends with C) does not allow you to return bras. Don’t get me wrong, I understand bottoms, but really bras? What’s the difference between that and a fitted top?

I didn’t want to spend $40 for the matching Freya bottom, so I went a few doors down to get these – A+ for comfort:

Lululemon Lacey Hotshort

There you have it. Comfortable shopping experience. Comfortable yet pretty underthings. Mission accomplished. And it wasn’t too painful.

Can’t say I’m a convert, but at least I have a few pretty things in my drawer.

So, tell me (if you feel like it), are you a Jockey/t-shirt bra person like me, or do you like to look elegant (and pay equally elegantly), rather than sporty under your clothes?

Entry filed under: Fashion, Otown, Style. Tags: , , , .

A Note about the “Nanny A’s Story” Style Tuesday: Cramping My Style

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie Drury  |  February 15, 2011 at 1:18 pm

    One word – thongs.
    I don’t get them, I don’t like them, I dont’ wear them.

    I get the ‘panty line’ issue, but that piece of material between my butt cheeks just makes me want to reach back there and pull it out.

    Reply
  • 2. fitforakid  |  February 15, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    Julie – I hear you on the thongs. I wear them when my outfit absolutely requires it only.

    Reply
  • 3. mostlyfitmom  |  February 16, 2011 at 1:22 am

    I buy Victoria’s Secret stuff. I find their hiphuggers comfy and the first time I tried on one of their bras, it was life-changing (but only a particular kind – I’m not really into pushups or anything). Also love my Moving Comfort sports bras. Have to agree about thongs! It’s like having a permanent wedgie, in my opinion.

    Reply
    • 4. fitforakid  |  February 17, 2011 at 3:08 pm

      Haven’t tried any Victoria’s Secret stuff in probably 10 years. Maybe it’s time… I’ll have to look for the Moving Comfort brand. I’ve never tried one. Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  • 5. Lynn  |  February 16, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    This post came at a perfect time…I have a very hard to fit bra size and I’ve been saving up for a trip to the Westboro bra shops, especially Lilac. I’m glad to hear you were able to find some pretty things – can’t wait to check them out!

    I’m absolutely a sporty girl though – Jockey and sports bras are the norm for me. I adore that tank top you got, though – so maybe it’s time to branch out!

    Reply
    • 6. fitforakid  |  February 17, 2011 at 2:50 pm

      Have fun shopping! Lilac and Brio were both great and had lots of “unique” sizes.

      Reply
  • 7. Jenn Beyak  |  February 17, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Great post. I love a mix of sporty and pretty. I love those Lulu lacey hotshorts…so comfy and cute! I agree that Brio has great service and have yet to try Lilac…I think a visit is in order!! Not sure what kind of thongs you gals have tried, but I love my thongs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


