Make Your Own Lemonade Sports Drink

February 23, 2011 at 9:33 am 6 comments

I wanted a sports drink for my longer run on Saturday. In Friday’s fitness post, a commenter reminded me that I need to replenish glycogen stores during runs as they get longer. The thought of buying Gatorade and having my children see its bright and enticing colours  in the fridge was not appealing.

So,

I googled.

Found this site.

Adapted this recipe.

And came up with the following very tasty and refreshing drink.

  • It has flavour and acid from the lemon.
  • It has sea salt to replenish salt stores lost through sweat.
  • It has agave nectar to replace glycogen stores in muscles.
  • The original recipe contained a tsp of coconut oil (to help deliver nutrients to their intended destinations in the body).

Coconut oil is solid at room temperature so in freezing temperatures it is hard. It did not make it out of the bottle and I will leave this out in future. I’m not running long enough to need the fat.

Lemonade (or Lemon-Lime) Sports Drink

Ingredients:

2 tbsp lemon juice (you could add lime too)

1 tbsp agave nectar (you could use honey, but the agave nectar is not as “fast” a carb and might fuel you a little longer)

2 c water

sea salt to taste (I made sure I could taste the salt without it being overpowering)

Measure and mix all the ingredients. Refrigerate and enjoy.

Entry filed under: Fitness, nutrition, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Manners in Preschoolers: Empathy as the Teacher A Fear Realized

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenn Beyak  |  February 24, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Thank you for sharing your good finds Liisa! I will make this drink for our run on Saturday.

    Reply
  • 2. Donna  |  February 25, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    Hey Ladies: another recipe to try is 2 cups water, 1/2 cup fresh orange juice (juiced directly from the orange) and a pinch of sea salt

    Reply
    • 3. fitforakid  |  February 25, 2011 at 4:26 pm

      Ooh – might try this one tomorrow.

      Reply
  • […] made my variation of overnight oats (which has become my regular pre-run breakfast), made my natural sports drink, and put out my outfit. Normally, I wouldn’t need a sports drink for a 10k, but I was going […]

    Reply
  • 5. Half-Marathon Race Day Preparations « Fit for a kid  |  May 28, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    […] sports drink and pre-race breakfast. […]

    Reply
  • 6. melstampz  |  May 11, 2012 at 4:07 am

    Love your recipe. I was looking for one with agave & this looks perfect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My Tweets

Feeds

Categories

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 367 other followers


